Style & Then Some

Katie’s Cakes Vol. 2: A little blue house for Caroline

Since I became the owner of 8 pots of amazing professional food colouring that I bought at the Cake and Bake Show cake decorating has basically become my favourite hobby. Following the birthday cake I made for my friend Neil’s party last week, I decided another party called for another cake, and so I set out to make a miniature replica of the house my best friend Caroline recently bought to take to her housewarming party.

Blue fondant house cake little blue decorared house how to decorate a cake like a house blue house icing cake cake decorating

Using a photo of the house that she had put on Facebook as a guide I basically made it up as I went along. Instead of baking an individual little cake I cut an oblong out of a square chocolate cake then sliced off a diagonal section at the top to make the shape of the roof. I covered the whole block in vanilla butter cream and then a layer of rolled out ready-made fondant icing which I had coloured with Sugarflair paste in baby blue – this was actually a lot more tricky than covering a big cake and some of the edges ended up overlapping a bit. For the rest I used plain fondant Sugarflair colours ‘black extra’ and a bit of dark brown for the door. For the roof I cut out a square separately and let it harden in the fridge for a couple of hours. I admit it’s not the most professional and accurate looking cake, but in this case I think it was more the sentiment that counted. Caroline was really impressed, so I was one happy cake decorator.

Blue fondant house cake little blue decorared house how to decorate a cake like a house blue house icing cake cake decorating

 

Blue fondant house cake little blue decorared house how to decorate a cake like a house blue house icing cake cake decorating

 

Blue fondant house cake little blue decorared house how to decorate a cake like a house blue house icing cake cake decorating

4 comments on “Katie’s Cakes Vol. 2: A little blue house for Caroline

  1. trialsinfood
    October 21, 2012

    looks awesome! perfect for a housewarming party!

  2. mydearbakes
    October 22, 2012

    Gosh, this is so lovely! Great job! =)

  3. New Good Studio
    November 1, 2012

    This is great, everything’s good in miniature, fact!

    • blondekatie
      November 1, 2012

      Thanks! Yes there’s something so appealing about miniature eatables, I love a good canape for example!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,732 other followers

