Style & Then Some

Is this the ugliest shoe ever?

Is it a flip-flop? Is it a trainer? No, it’s the Converse All Star Sandal, and, oh my, is it a beast.

converse all star sandal flip flop red shoe converse flip flops converse thongs converse sandals red shoes trainer flip flops

I came across these beauties (note the irony conveyed by my use of italics there) while putting together a fashion spread for Chat magazine, as I often do on Mondays at the Press Association. As it wasn’t a spread to collate the worst shoes of all time I wasn’t able to utilise said pair, but I just had to share them with the wider world. Surely I can’t be alone in being utterly repulsed by these sneaker-sandal hybrid monstrosities?

The Condal (that’s what I’m naming it) has actually been around for a while, but I can’t imagine sales have been booming because I’ve never seen any human sporting a pair in real life. Funny, huh? They just raise so many questions for me: Why would you want to wear flip-flops with a high top? Or, why you want to wear Cons that are open-toed, wouldn’t you get cold toes? Wouldn’t they get full of sand on the beach? Since you couldn’t wear them with socks, wouldn’t they end up seriously ponging, as anyone who’s worn Cons with bare feet can attest? Most of all, Wouldn’t strangers point and laugh if you walked down the street in such an aesthetically and functionally appalling choice of footwear? They really do boggle my mind. But, hey, if you’re into that kind of thing, you can get a pair over on the Bank website. Go on, I dare you.

Converse All Star Sandals, £35 from Bank Fashion.

converse all star sandal flip flop red shoe converse flip flops converse thongs converse sandals red shoes trainer flip flops

converse all star sandal flip flop red shoe converse flip flops converse thongs converse sandals red shoes trainer flip flops

6 comments on “Is this the ugliest shoe ever?

  1. Skeptical
    November 17, 2012

    “The Condal (that’s what I’m naming it) has actually been around for a while, but I can’t imagine sales have been booming because I’ve never seen any human sporting a pair in real life. ”
    Actually, I own a black, a red, and a white pair that friends and complete strangers show great enthusiasm for; ususally to ask WHERE TO BUY them. I have NEVER experienced any criticism of the style, directly or indirectly, to me when wearing them, except one bunion queen who confessed later to petty jealousy.
    I’m guessing that any detractors would also have troll feet (you know, bunions, callouses, pointy-shoe misaligned toes, or just plain fugly feet) , and feel threatened when a pretty safe full-cover label like Converse (the only brand you wear, of course) would expose their summertime alibi to the light of day.

  2. kea
    August 26, 2013

    I loooove them to bits* pls tel me where can I find this Fine shoes in South Africa

  3. Milly
    September 20, 2013

    @Kea i just got a pair red ones yeasterday in pretoria SA

    • Monzonique
      October 9, 2013

      Where in Pretoria did you find them I have been searching all over the net but just cant seem to find them please shop name and address would be great I want them

      • Milly
        October 10, 2013

        there is a shop opposite TUT arcadia campus, in church street, they were selling quite fast, you can also go down towards prinsloo street but concetrate on your left hand side opposite reserve bank, i saw them there as well, i unfortunately dont remember the name of the shop.hope u will come right

  4. Obakeng Morebodi
    October 20, 2013

    Where can I find it in Cape Town?

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2012 by in Style and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,665 other followers

