Style & Then Some

Sophie’s Favourite Things of 2012

Well, 2012, what a year! It’s time to light a fire and curl up on the sofa in front of the Christmas tree for some quality time with family and friends. I’m sure I’m not the only one who is thankful for a little holiday and Christmas cheer. Here are some of my favourite things of the past year…

Kate Spade Talk of the town pretty designer stationary

1. Snail mail

Is it just me, or does everyone live in London? And as we get older, it’s getting harder and harder to stay in touch, no? At least, that is how I have felt over the past year as I moved from London to Oxford and stopped visiting the big smoke quite so much. Facebook messages, texts, emails, and even calls are great, but I’ve found that nothing beats some post, whether it’s a little note or a long, deep and meaningful letter. A refreshing revelation in this age of technology. I think it’s the physicality of it, the intimacy of the handwriting, the way a letter links you physically across the miles, that makes it so special. (I particularly love Kate Spade‘s gorgeous range of note cards, although getting into expensive stationary is a dangerous thing!)

2. New Girl

Okay, so this isn’t new for 2012, but this show starring Zoey Deschanel did take a while to grow on me. Zoey has really grown into the role now, though, and not only is her wardrobe inspiring, but her character also reminds us that being a feminist doesn’t mean that you can’t like ‘girly’ things, like baking and glitter and flowers. I used to cook a lot for an ex boyfriend, because he didn’t know how to, and I got quite a few comments about that from friends who assumed I was conforming to female stereotypes and bowing to the patriarchy, blah blah blah. A few years later, though, and he is a genius in the kitchen. He was watching and learning the whole time.

Anyway, in the words of Jessica Day: “I brake for birds. I rock a lot of polka dots. I have touched glitter in the last 24 hours. I spend my entire day talking to children. And I find it fundamentally strange that you’re not a dessert person. It freaks me out.  I’m sorry that I don’t talk like Murphy Brown. And I hate your pants suit. I wish it had ribbons on it or something just to make it slightly cuter but that doesn’t mean I’m not smart and tough and strong.”

Pashley bike pretty blue bike with a basket

3. Cycling

I’m going to have to learn to drive at some point, but one of the things I love about living in Oxford is that I can hop on a bike, see some beauty, breath some fresh air, and get myself where I need to be without damaging the environment. It reminds me of being a child and feeling incredibly grown up and empowered because I realised I could transport myself from A to B pretty damn fast all by myself.

Gilmore Girls boxset

4. Gilmore Girls

The boxset is out! Santa, if you’re reading this…

So if you’re not a fan, I know what you’re thinking. I thought it looked tacky and twee, too, I really did. It’s the title, and the Carol King theme song, and the odd fashion sense. But believe me, it is totally worth getting past this bad first impression – it’s smart, it’s funny with brilliant dialogue, it’s a lot more ‘real’ than any other TV show I know – there aren’t too many dramatic plot twists, the characters stay true to themselves and grow naturally, and have relatively normal wardrobes. It’s also really quite open minded in the true sense of the phrase. The evil Republican grandparents turn out to be human and loveable just like everyone else, and even the crazy, severe Seventh Day Adventist Mrs Kim is a well developed character with a soft side in the end.

Pinterest why Pinterest is so great social media new social media trends

5. Pinterest

I’m addicted, I readily admit it. But I don’t think that’s bad thing at all – I have made an amazing baked alaska and a delicious onion soup from recipes I found on Pinterest, and those brilliant caramel cookies… yes, I found that recipe on Pinterest, too. And I find that somehow having pins of all my favourite things – a virtual wardrobe – makes me less sad about not being able to afford lots of stuff in real life. Any other Pin-addicts out there will know what I mean. Pinterest is a real sign of the fact that social media is becoming more and more visually oriented.

Tina Fey quote on beauty body image

6. Tina Fey

Not only is she the brains behind 30 Rock, she also wrote Mean Girls. HOW DID I NOT KNOW THIS?! What a comic genius. I just love everything about her. I think that’s a good note to end on, really.

Merry Christmas, all!

About Sophie Caldecott

Writer | Founder of www.abetterplacejournal.com

One comment on “Sophie’s Favourite Things of 2012

  1. Helen Coakley
    December 24, 2012

    Ha Sophie I absolutely love that New Girl quote. I’m thinking of fashioning a ribbon hat as well…

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 23, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,714 other followers

