Style & Then Some

Pants Party: Has Aussie Brand Stonemen Cracked it?

Call me crazy, but over the years I have developed somewhat of an intense hatred for underwear shopping on the British high street.  Now, I might be alone in saying this, but I truly believe the majority of knickers on offer are either designed by a man or a woman who hates her own vagina and wants to see it suffer.  A good pair of pants (and I’m not talking bedroom knickers here, that’s a whole other shebang) need to provide you with comfort, yet not make you feel like it’s a trip to period town every day of the week.  I have never, for the life of me, understood how or WHY so many women choose to purchase knickers with the seam running vertically down the middle.  I do understand why they manufacture them this way though, as it is considerably cheaper for Philip Green and friends (oh look I did learn something from my fashion degree!) but SERIOUSLY does anyone find these knickers (usually the 3 for £7 in New Look etc) actually comfortable?   Please do share, as I am at a loss as to why there haven’t been any rallies against contour clothing this year.

Just to be clear, I don’t actually go commando in retaliation.  I have scouted out brands over the years that do understand womankind and have thus invested my dollar in their products.  Sometimes George comes up trumps, as does Victoria’s Secret, Levi’s and Diesel.  Not all the time, but enough so that I do go back.  So I was really rather curious/sceptical when Stonemen underwear got in contact regarding their Aussie-based undergarment company.  Taking digital print inspiration of sunsets, galaxies, skylines etc and applying them to their briefs,  I tested out the sunset pair and was extremely surprised.  Not only are they off-the-chain comfortable, they are a perfect fit and offer something different in a very boring underwear market.  I tend to get jelly of men’s pants, and love a good thick waistband (yes, yes I understand this might not sound like the sexiest of omissions) but so few women’s brand actually make any underwear like this.  Maybe it’s because I’m their only target market, or perhaps because we are so used to the teeny tiny, unnecessarily ruffley girly underwear that society scarily deems appropriate for us.  So thank you Stonemen for answering my underwear drawer prayers, and long live the Aussie bum brigade! (FYI the photo below is NOT of my derriere, but definitely going to be my next pair):

Stonemen underwear stonemen pants stonemen knickers stonemen briefs women women comfortable cool underwear sunset print underwear skyline print underwear

Stonemen underwear stonemen pants stonemen knickers stonemen briefs women women comfortable cool underwear sunset print underwear skyline print underwear

About Helen Coakley

One comment on “Pants Party: Has Aussie Brand Stonemen Cracked it?

  1. Pingback: Bra-ageddon: Waging A War On Underwire (Not in Feminist Way) | Style and Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in Style and tagged , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,799 other followers

