Style & Then Some

Style and Then Some’s London Fashion Week AW13-14 preview – the most exciting designers to look out for

Fashion month is upon us again but with new talent and high street stores signing up to show at London Fashion Week AW13, it’s trickier than ever to know which collections to look out for, the livestreams to bookmark and the names to remember.

We asked a few fashion industry pals and our own S&TS contributors for some expert advice in the run up to London Fashion Week which kicks off on February 15th 2013.

mary-katrantzou-and-katie

Katie Wright, editor of Style & Then Some @BlondeKatie

If I had a magic ticket that got me into any show I’d be heading to Tom Ford – he’s doing a full-sized show in London for the first time – Christopher Kane, Mary Katrantzou (snapped with me above) and the ever star-studded Burberry extravaganza.

ashish-LFW-preview SS13

Colin McDowell has been raving about Fyodor Golan so that’s another name on my watch list, along with Ashish (SS13 above) and Moschino Cheap and Chic because they’re both always dazzlingly fun and wearable.

michael-van-der-ham-LFW-preview-AW12

In recent seasons, my favourite shows have been Michael van der Ham (AW12 above) so I am looking forward to seeing what they’re up to for AW13. Plus I’ve been to Spijkers and Spijkers for the past three seasons too so I’m looking forward to seeing how they’re progressing.

christopher-kane-LFW-preview

Olivia Wakefield, editorial assistant at Net-a-Porter @OlivesW

I can’t wait for Simone Rocha’s new collection. She is a genius – romantic with a tough edge. Christopher Kane (above) is also a showstopper too; I love the sinister element to his pieces.

Outside of LFW, I’m interested to see Hedi Slimane’s follow-up at Saint Laurent. His LA grunge aesthetic is great.

Without a doubt I’ll be coveting bits by Proenza Schouler, Miu Miu and Erdem this season.

christopher-raeburn-LFW-preview

Helen Coakley, writer at Style & Then Some @Helencoakley

Having followed the development and evolution of both Christopher Raeburn’s menswear and womenswear collections (AW12 above) over the past few years, I’m really intrigued to see what AW13-14 will hold in store for the growing brand. With Victoria Beckham now a major fan, it’ll be all eyes on the NEWGEN designer at Fashion Week.

bora-aksu-LFW-preview-SS13

I witnessed Bora Aksu’s insanely dreamy, other-worldly SS13 show last season where Eastern European princesses dominated and flower crowns stole the show (not to mention the harem of celebrities who were sitting pretty FROW). We’ll see this amazing designer develop his vision for AW13-14.

get-waisted-burberry-prorsum

Alice Marmion, non-apparel sourcing at Burberry

Obviously I’m biased but I’m most looking forward to Burberry, we have some exciting things coming up next season. Working in sourcing means I’m already looking towards SS14 as we work so far ahead.

mulberry-LFW-preview

Other than Burberry I’ll be keeping an eye on Mulberry for the shapes and leather and Erdem for the prints.

Fashion Scout have put forward three designers Yeashin Lin, Patrick Li and Yulia Kondranina – it’s headed up by Hilary Alexander and she knows a thing or two about fashion!

simone-rocha-LFW_preview-SS13

Dee Acharya, features assistant at ES magazine @dee_acharya

First up, Simone Rocha because you always respect a designer who can pack the tent at Somerset House and prove her worth with a SS collection (above) that felt like it was almost exclusively in white.

sophia-webster-LFW-preview-SS13

I’m also looking forward to Sophia Webster’s presentation because I haven’t been this excited about an accessories designer since Charlotte Olympia’s debut and I like her tongue in cheek style. She’s already assisted Nicholas Kirkwood for a while so the girl knows how to make a cult shoe.

matthew-williamson-LFW-preview

Another highlight will be Matthew Williamson’s show because I want to see how he’ll beat that magical show from last season. The dresses are always exquisite in their detail and flamboyant colours.

One comment on “Style and Then Some’s London Fashion Week AW13-14 preview – the most exciting designers to look out for

  1. NyNy
    February 19, 2013

    What lovely pictures you have taken! I love seeing people expressing their fashion in their own ways. Not really into fashion but seeing people be passionate to what they love during LFW is great. I passed Somerset House the other day and there were some very interesting colours and clothes that people put together.

    I hope you will check out this post and comment on my friend’s post about the KTZ show during LFW while meeting Carri of Cassette Playa and ex-Danity Kane member, Dawn Richards: http://denzelwynter.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/london-fashion-week-aw-13-lfw-day-1.html

Leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,843 other followers

