Style & Then Some

Top Soft Bras On The High Street

I enjoy a good shopping session as much as the next person, but there are a few items that when I am faced with replacing, I literally go cold at the thought.  Jeans, shoes and bras are my shopping kryptonite and I tend to leave it until the very last minute to brave the high street in search of worthy replacements.  Whilst I am fully aware I also bitch about knicker shopping in the UK, bras can be an even worse experience.

Whilst I am not blessed with a Kelly Brook-esque rack, nor the desire to ‘plump things up’ surgically, this does mean that I don’t particularlly need the support of Mr Underwire and his welt-inducing friends.  So if you are like me, and find buying bras a torturous experience, why not opt for the soft variety?  Urban Outfitters and Topshop have been doing a small line of cracking soft bras for a while now (Some of the below I actually have and they are ridiculously comfy you forget your wearing them).  Furthermore, I ventured to the new & Other Stories concept store last week and was delighted to see they too have jumped on the soft bra bandwagon and launched a gorgeous range with matching bottoms to boot…

Urban Outfitters (Approx £16)

Soft bras Urban outfitters lingerie urban outfitters bras urban outfitters bra urban outfitters soft bra the best soft bras the best bras without underwire

& Other Stories (£19)

Soft bras & other stories outfitters lingerie urban outf bras & other stories bra & other stories soft bra the best soft bras the best bras without underwire

& Other Stories (£19)

Soft bras & other stories outfitters lingerie urban outf bras & other stories bra & other stories soft bra the best soft bras the best bras without underwire

Topshop (£18)

Soft bras Topshop lingerie Topshop bras  bra Topshop soft bra the best soft bras the best bras without underwire

Topshop (£12)Soft bras Topshop lingerie Topshop bras  bra Topshop soft bra the best soft bras the best bras without underwire

Pretty, pretty, pretty.

About Helen Coakley

5 comments on “Top Soft Bras On The High Street

  1. Lillian
    March 25, 2013

    I get the point of this post but I think the title needs some serious reconsideration. Did you think that without the assurance that you didn’t mean it “in a feminist way” people just wouldn’t read on, assuming you were a militant bra-burner? And anyway what would be the issue if you were? It upsets me when women themselves feel the need to distance themselves from the ‘feminist’ cause, equating it with extremism. To the poster: you’re a female blogger. You obviously believe strongly in your own freedom of speech and expression. You believe in being able to wear what you want. You probably believe that girls and women are entitled to education, fair pay and to not be forced in to sex or marriage. Surely EVERY SINGLE THING YOU DO is “in a feminist way”?

    • Helen Coakley
      March 25, 2013

      Hi Lillian,

      Thank you for your comments and I have amended the title. This was meant to offend. It was done more in a jokey way as it wasn’t actually having much of a ‘feminist’ angle to it.

    • blondekatie
      March 25, 2013

      For what it’s worth, I can confirm Helen is as feminist in her views as you or I Lil, I think the title was just a bit of word play, riffing on the idea that people would want to burn bras for reasons other than women’s liberation!

      Personally, I can’t wear soft bras because my boobs are too pointy, but that’s a whole other story….! :D

      • Lillian
        March 25, 2013

        Thanks ladies. I wasn’t doubting feminism here, more raising the point that even innocent word play can and does reflect deeper problems. I think it’s cool that you amended the title, and while I don’t think any real offence was caused it’s good to air these things.

  2. Pingback: Is your lingerie drawer in need of a springtime overhaul? | Style and Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2013 by in Style and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,818 other followers

