Style & Then Some

Nailing it part 2: Summer nail designs worth perfecting

Have you ever read the book Outliers? Well, if not, in a nutshell it tells you how no one gets good at anything without practice – around 10,000 hours to be exact. And if you saw my nail art post a few months back you may know that I have a new hobby, and have been spending many Sunday afternoons steadily becoming more and more light-headed through using copious amounts of nail varnish remover and learning to steady my shaky hands.

Actually that post now makes me cringe, but proves the Outliers theory about practice being key. All I can say is thank goodness for the likes of Pinterest and YouTube who are currently playing a major role in my nail education and to my friends who are now letting me butcher prettify their paws..

The idea for the Diet Coke cans were spied by our Katie on Twitter, and I am currently attempting to perfect them for her…

diet coke nails diet coke nail art diet coke nails 2013 Bananas, watermelons, kiwis and strawberries complete my ‘fruit salad’ wheel…

Fruit salad nails watermelon nail art kiwi nail art strawberry nail art banana nail art fruit nails 2013

Whilst I picked these neon colours up (four in a pack) for only £2 in good old Primark to attempt this Aztec-y neon design.  You may be able to see I am yet to perfect straight lines…

neon aztec nail art neon nail art And here is my attempt at the Roy Lichtenstein pop art design…

Roy Lichtenstein nails Roy Lichtenstein pop art nails

So that is my current selection guys!  If you see any designs, have any great tips or would like your nails doing do get in touch and help a sister out.

About Helen Coakley

writer/designer/trend forecaster.

9 comments on “Nailing it part 2: Summer nail designs worth perfecting

  1. sophiecha
    May 20, 2013

    I would like to request Art Deco nails. Yes I just saw The Great Gatsby.

    • Helen Coakley
      May 21, 2013

      Ohhhh good one Soph!

  2. sophiecha
    May 20, 2013

    I also really like the aztec neon ones… You have a gift

  3. Must Have Boxes
    May 20, 2013

    Lovely designs!

    - KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  4. lastcontrast
    May 21, 2013

    aw, it’s true though. practise makes perfect.love all the malcolm gladwell books actually, blink is really good as well.

  5. I’m a huge fan Malcom Gladwell, I always think of the 10k hours when I’m frustrated. Love the nails!

  6. Pingback: Getting good at hair |

  7. Pingback: Want to be your own boss? We interview Hoppity Roo to find out how to successfully launch a new start-up | Style & Then Some

  8. Pingback: Struggling to grow your nails? I have the answer | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2013 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,695 other followers

