Style & Then Some

Thoroughly Modern Millinery: Hats That Are Hot Right Now

I’ve never considered myself to be a ‘hat person’, probably due to my ever-changing and ill-advised hairstyles. But if you’re as much of a trend slave as I am, hats are rapidly becoming staple pieces – and with wedding and festival season currently in full swing, donning headwear is virtually unavoidable. Follow me as we take a look at a triptych of hats that are so hot right now and their stylish celeb wearers…

First up, Alexa Chung’s floppy plum-coloured fedora – perfect for smartening up weekends in the city or, paired with a waxed jacket, country strolls. Chungy was spotted wearing it at Glastonbury a few weeks back – one look and my hat aversion vanished and I trotted out to Topshop to buy my own version in khaki. I loved that hat so much that I didn’t even mind my boyfriend whistling the Indiana Jones theme tune at me all the way home. I still love it, and the fact it hides shocklingly greasy hair or a make-up free face. It’s just so cool.

Alexa Chung, 2013, Glastonbury, Festival, Fedora alexa chung glastonbury 2013 photo fedora hat alexa chung glastonbury 2013 fashion style photo

The Chung, doing everything right as per usual

Fedora, River Island, hats, 2013, festival alexa chung glastonbury 2013 photo fedora hat alexa chung glastonbury 2013 fashion style photo

Fedora, River Island, £22

The beanie hat, once an embarrassing throwback to the Nineties, has had a resurgence thanks to Rihanna and the ubiquitous clothes horse that is Cara Delevingne. Where once I sneered at my dad’s black Thinsulate beanie he wore for dog-walking, I’ve now just bought an identical one from American Apparel – and that was only because I couldn’t find his to steal. Yes, it’s bemusingly erect, and I’m still not 100% on how to wear it, but I love the contrast between a smart blazer and a slouchy hat – and you know, it does also cover up greasy hair too. Who needs a shower these days?!

Cara Delevingne, 2013, street style, beanie  cara delevigne beanie hat photo 2013

Homies, Beanie, Cara Delevingne, Hat, ASOS, 2013 cara delevigne beanie hat photo 2013

Reason Homies Beanie Hat, ASOS, £30

The bowler hat is remaining a street-style fixture through the seasons too, as championed by professional hipsters Fearne Cotton and Rachel Bilson. Now as much as I love my bowler, its precarious placement on the crown of my head means it gets blown off in the slightest of breezes, and I’m forced to do the embarrassing run-down-the-road after a hat. And then, heaven forbid, the world will realise I never wash my hair! Still, it does provide a bit of Camden cool – just only on very, very still days.

Fearne Cotton, Bowler, Hat, London, 2013, street style Fearne Cotton 2013 bowler hat grey bowler hat 2013

Bowler Hat, Topshop, 2013, street style Fearne Cotton 2013 bowler hat grey bowler hat 2013

Transitional Bowler Hat, Topshop, £18

So pick your team from the ‘It’ hats – fedora, beanie or bowler? I can tell you, one thing’s for sure, you’ll save on shampoo spending…

Links: River Island Fedora, ASOS Beanie, Topshop Bowler.

Leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,818 other followers

