Style & Then Some

Borrow My Doggy: Find your new furry best friend

It’s no secret I am absolutely obsessed with dogs. I can’t walk past one without cooing ‘whoooosssaboo?!’ and regularly faint at the sight of puppies. Alas, I haven’t had my own pet pooch for years now and, like many Londoners, my current lifestyle and rental contract screams ‘hell no’ at the mere contemplation of becoming a doggie mumma. However, a friend recently told me about a volunteer dog walking service in Manchester they used to take part in, so I started sniffing (first dog pun of the article, get used to it) out similar schemes in London. That’s when I came across Borrow My Doggy – a new start-up business that matches volunteer dog walkers with pooches and their owners in their local area.

If you have a doggy already and need a little extra help with walkies, puppy play dates or even to find someone you trust to look after your furry baby for a weekend or so, you can sign your dog up and search through profiles of doggy volunteers in your local area. Warning alert for volunteers though… you cannot browse the doggies the same way and they have to contact you. Oh, and also you may come across as completely desperado like I have in my profile.

Borrow my Doggy dog walking London volunteer dog walking London 2013

Borrow my Doggy dog walking London volunteer dog walking London 2013

It doesn’t cost a thing to be a volunteer and if you have a few evenings a week free, why not sign up? Although I haven’t been contacted yet, I will have to make do with this ridiculously cute video of a Chow Chow puppy that went viral recently…

HE’S SO FLUFFY IMMA GONNA DIE!!!

 

About Helen Coakley

4 comments on “Borrow My Doggy: Find your new furry best friend

  1. sophiecha
    August 25, 2013

    update?

    • Helen Coakley
      August 26, 2013

      Nothing yet! Although I may just get one of those remote control toy dogs soon.

  2. Pingback: A Doggy Birthday: 2013 365 Challenge #246 | writermummy

  3. Eliana
    September 16, 2014

    Hi Helen! Hope you managed to make dog friends since this post! I am in Manchester and was wondering if you could tell me the service you were using when you where here! :)

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2013 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,805 other followers

