Style & Then Some

iTunes festival at Camden Roundhouse – one more week of free music

I got very lucky last night. Not only did I not win free iTunes festival tickets for the Mogwai and Errors gig at Camden Roundhouse, I also failed to shimmy up to the venue in time for 7 o’ clock which is when my friends started to queue for reserve tickets. I also couldn’t jump in the queue with them – what with the metal barrier, angry Mogwai fans and stewards everywhere.

So I trudged to the back of the line to stand on my own. A man who had tickets looked at us weary reserve queue souls and said “I’ve got a plus one if anyone wants it?”, glancing in my direction. The cogs in my hungover little brain didn’t turn fast enough and the bald man in front of me leapt to be his date for the night.

But , I got in. Number 49 of 50 people let in who didn’t win tickets. And my advice if you’re a fan of Moby, Nero, Noah and the Whale, Example or Magnetic Man and you can easily get to Camden – you might aswell give it a shot. Get there for 6.45/ 7pm for bands like Mogwai who have fans but aren’t crazy big. Otherwise, for Coldplay people started queuing at 1 o’ clock in the afternoon. The iTunes festival is on until this Sunday, the 31st July and you can see the line-up here.

Errors are a four piece from Glasgow who are signed to Mogwai’s Rock Action Records. We only caught the end of their set but from what I heard they matched the headliners in the scale of their sound, with a few more pop/ electronic elements thrown in. Definitely one to keep an eye on.

Mogwai played a brilliant set, moving from quiet, sparse melodies on the piano to loud instrumental guitars with deft touches. They played a fair few from their most recent album, Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will – I loved Rano Pano – as well as a few for the fans – Auto Rock from Mr.Beast (my favourite of their tracks and the most played on Spotify) was snuck in, in the middle of their encore and didn’t disappoint live.

One comment on “iTunes festival at Camden Roundhouse – one more week of free music

  1. blondekatie
    July 25, 2011

    49th out of 50? That is SERIOUSLY lucky!

Leave a comment

