Style & Then Some

Catwalk beats: Kreayshawn

Ok, so I’m a sucker for fashion-themed music, and when I heard Kreayshawn’s ‘Gucci Gucci’ on the radio with it’s ‘Gucci, Gucci, Fendi, Fendi, Louis, Louis, Prada’ chorus the other day I just had to look into this.  It is just screaming out to be sampled for the next Ashish show (fingers crossed), I mean Cazwell’s ‘I seen Beyonce at Burger King’ circa SS11…it just shouldn’t have worked but it DID.

Either way, Kreayshawn has got game, even if you don’t know half the stuff she’s bleating on about – I’m not going to pretend I know either.  One thing’s for certain, you aren’t going to catch Cher Lloyd being allowed to declare she has ‘swagger pumping out my ovaries’ – and I don’t think she’d dare.

On a slightly more random note, Kreayshawn has been rumoured to be directing the Red Hot Chili Peppers new video.  Yeah, I don’t get that either.

About Helen Coakley

2 comments on “Catwalk beats: Kreayshawn

  1. blondekatie
    August 11, 2011

    I love this girl, she’s like an American version of Lady Sovereign. Didn’t realise this song had hit mainstream radio yet though. Apparently she does loads of other stuff like producing and directing which is why she’s doing the Chillies video I guess.

  2. Helen Coakley
    August 13, 2011

    She’s flavour of the Week on Radio 1. Read a bit of background info, her mother was a singer also!

Leave a comment

