Style & Then Some

Pimp my Palace: Marie Antoinette’s Versailles

They say you should never meet your heroes.  And I generally believe this to be true.  I mean, I can pretty much guarantee an encounter with Liam Gallagher (insert mockery here) will leave me with the feeling that my years of hero-based worship at the altar of Oasis was a tad dramatic.   

But when you are also a Grade A History geek (actually A* G.C.S.E, I’ll have you know), like me, a chance to visit the home of one of your favourite Horrible History characters is pretty  much up there, nerves wise.  But as it happened, my inner geek lucked out big time when I visited the palace of Versailles a.k.a the home of Marie Antoinette.

Having developed a major crush on the femme fatale after seeing Kirsten Dunst’s celluloid portrayal of what is, arguably the most fashionable woman EVER (in my opinion, fashion police) this trip only helped to turn my admiration into a complete obsession…

Palace Of Versailles Marie Antoinette 2011 Paris France

Palace Of Versailles Marie Antoinette 2011 Paris France

 

Palace Of Versailles Marie Antoinette 2011 Paris France

Palace Of Versailles Marie Antoinette 2011 Paris France

Oh and by the by, entry to Versailles is free for art students, as is the Louvre.  Good one Sarkozy!

About Helen Coakley

One comment on “Pimp my Palace: Marie Antoinette’s Versailles

  1. Sophie Charara
    August 18, 2011

    After reading this I am planning how I can get back to Paris asap – I’ve been twice but never went to ze Palace.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2011 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , .
