Style & Then Some

The LFW Virgin and the Izmaylova Express : Izmaylova SS12

Izmaylova SS12 Izmaylova 2011 London Fashion Week Shingai Shinowa The Noisettes Made in CheseaWhat: Izmaylova at LFW SS12

Where: Vauxhall Fashion Scout, The Freemason’s Hall

When: Sunday 18th September, 1.15pm

Who: Shingai Shoniwa of The Noisettes, Amber Atherton of Made In Chelsea, ‘fro.

I’m late. I’m running down Great Queen Street after being stuck on the bridge in traffic for half an hour, gritting my teeth at my lack of luck. I’ve never been to a fashion show before and it looks like today will not be the day I get to see one. My wonderful sister’s voicemail is not offering any consolation as the minutes countdown.

I get there at exactly 1.15, and there is an immobile queue in sight.  Fortunately the show, being locomotive themed is accordingly delayed. As the doors finally open we are led in to the opulence of the Freemasons Hall, a gold and jewel coloured Art Deco dream.

I’m studying the fashion crowd, perfecting my own faux disinterested visage (I’ve already practised, I go to Central Saint Martins)  to mirror theirs as we wait on the stairs. A man in a vintage style train driver’s get up welcomes me to the Izmaylova Express, and clips my ticket. All aboard.

Izmaylova SS12 Izmaylova 2011 London Fashion Week Shingai Shinowa The Noisettes Made in Chesea

A few scuffles for the best view, many photos and a clock strikes signaling the start of the show. There’s a definite 20’s-with an edge- vibe throughout.  My camera’s misbehaving as I struggle to capture the pale silks, the swish of skirts and the statuesque drapery  all offset by the geometric patterns of the granite floor. Hard glances meet feather adornments and assymetric cuts.

A rhymthic moody music sets the pace for the poses, and its all over in a flash, so quick! The final clap, buzzing talk and I’m out of there.

Izmaylova SS12 Izmaylova 2011 London Fashion Week Shingai Shinowa The Noisettes Made in Chesea

Words and images Helene Charara.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2011 by in Style and tagged , , , , , , .
