Style & Then Some

Stationery, skincare and songs – why I have a crush on all things Australian

I’ve been noticing a common theme to a lot of my favourite things, recently. Natural skincare brands Jurlique and Natio, the beautiful stationery company Poppies for Grace, and the musicians Matt Corby (who I interviewed for Style and Then Some earlier this year here), Boy and Bear and Angus and Julia Stone all have a couple of important things in common: they are all great, and they are all Australian. Yes, that’s right, I have an Australian crush.

Everything at Jurlique feels and smells amazing on your skin, and the tinted moisturiser by Natio is so much lighter and just all-around better than any other I’ve tried (including a very disappointing one from Elizabeth Arden, which didn’t moisturise my skin properly and just made me look a bit orange). Poppies for Grace has been inspiring my idea of the ideal desk space recently with pretty notepads, sticky notes and letter writing paper. I have a little fantasy where I write everyone beautiful letters and thank you notes and such like all the time, and in this fantasy everything is from Poppies for Grace.

Poppies for Grace desk Poppies for Grace stationery cute stationery vintage stationery buy Poppies for Grace stationery online

Poppies for Grace apple pie notebook Poppies for Grace stationery Poppies for Grace stationery cute stationery illustrated stationery buy Poppies for Grace stationery online

Poppies for Grace apple pie notebook

When I went to Melbourne in 2008 I completely fell in love with their Victorian wrought-iron terraces, art galleries, avenues of vintage shops and quirky little cafes and bakeries. It was the perfect, laid-back mix of European-style culture and an ideal kind of city life where everyone changed out of their suits and went surfing after work. With more sun all year round than us, and great expanses of open, wild landscape, it’s no wonder this country is producing so many great things at the moment.

Do you have a crush on a particular nation?

Next, I’ll be exploring all things Icelandic.

About Sophie Caldecott

Writer | Founder of www.abetterplacejournal.com

3 comments on “Stationery, skincare and songs – why I have a crush on all things Australian

  1. sophiecha
    October 20, 2011

    I want that desk. But I’d have a MacBook pro with typewriter style keys (these exist). Have you heard the anecdote about a female writer who gets dressed perfectly and looks immaculate to sit in her house all day and write? Who is that I can’t remember?

  2. Pingback: #CountryCrush no. 2: Why I love all things Icelandic | Style and Then Some

  3. Sophie Caldecott
    October 21, 2011

    Ummm, Carrie from SATC?! I don’t know, but I think that’s a good idea. I’m sure you write better when you’re better dressed… gives you a better work mentality than writing in bed in your pjs. (I would just now point out that I am a MASSIVE hypocrite!)

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2011 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , .
