Style & Then Some

Adorable accessories alert: Knit your own hedgehog mittens

Hedgehog mittens Hedgehog Mitts KnitKit Morehouse Farm Critter Knits lobster mittens pattern owl mittens pattern penguin mittens pattern cute knitting patterms animal knitting patterns adorable knitting patterns glove knitting pattern cute knitting patterns

I wore gloves today for the first time since last winter, which is kind of depressing, because that means I’m at the start of my annual four month long battle to try and stay at least moderately warm (my house gets so cold that last year I bought an electric blanket, and it was basically the best thing I ever purchased). But the cold morning air also gave me a little pang of excitement at the thought of all the thick woolen layers I’ll be able to pile on when it get’s really cold. Instead of my Primark fake leather driving gloves I’ve decided I want an adorable hedgehog on each hand. I found these mittens on the I Love Wool Facebook page (remember the amazing competition they ran earlier this year?). They’re by Australian wool company Morehouse Farm Merino, but you’re going to have to take up knitting to get your hands on them, or find a willing knitter, because it’s the pattern that’s for sale. For AUS$24.80 you get the yarn, pattern, and bead eyes, but no needles unfortunately. There are loads of other adorable animals like owls and penguins, plus kooky things like lobster claws. My personal favourites are the beehive mittens, because of my new found hobby, beekeeping. Would it be wrong if I bought my Mum the pattern for Christmas, just so she can make me some?

The Hedgehog Mitts KnitKit is available online from Morehouse Farm website. Check out the whole range of Critter Knits.

4 comments on “Adorable accessories alert: Knit your own hedgehog mittens

  1. Karen
    October 22, 2011

    Love these! x

  2. Sophie Caldecott
    October 22, 2011

    Ohhh my goodness, amazing! My boyfriend really wants me to knit them for him!

  3. Helen Coakley
    October 23, 2011

    I can’t get over how cute these are!

  4. Pingback: Splodz Blogz » Cold Hands? You Need Gloves.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2011 by in And Then Some, Style and tagged , , , , , .
