Style & Then Some

My new winter boots

Deena & Ozzy cuffed tan boots, suede boots, walking boots, winter boots, brogues, Urban Outfitters boots

I have found my dream wintertime boots. A cross between walking boots and brogues with a cute little embroidered cuff trim around the ankle, these will see me right through the cold, dark days of November and December and out of the blues of the New Year into the Spring. (Well, as long as I spray them with suede protector and get them re-soled before they completely wear through – I usually leave it too long to rescue shoes.) They are by Urban Outfitters, who seems to have a talent for affordable, stylish footwear. I’ve always been a tad intimidated by brogues, but it was love at first sight with this pair. They remind me a bit of old fashioned ice-skates as well, which helps boost their seasonal appeal.

In one of my favourite books when I was little, Elizabeth Goudge’s The Little White Horse, the heroine, Maria, is feeling sad and cheers herself up by looking down and wriggling her toes in her beautiful new boots. “Humanity can be roughly divided into three sorts of people,” says Goudge, “those who find comfort in literature, those who find comfort in personal adornment, and those who find comfort in food.” Personally, I disagree – I find comfort in all three. But she is right about the comforting effect of a new pair of boots.

About Sophie Caldecott

Writer | Founder of www.abetterplacejournal.com

2 comments on “My new winter boots

  1. blondekatie
    November 18, 2011

    That’s a brilliant quote, and I totally find comfort in all 3 as well! My mum wrote on my facebook wall that she liked these boots, thinking I’d written this!

  2. Pingback: What we wore // LFW Day 1 | Style and Then Some

Leave a comment

