Style & Then Some

Face Off: Michelle vs. Marilyn

She has come a long way from the days when she played bad-ass Jen in Dawson’s Creek, and next year Michelle Williams is tipped to clean up at the Academy Awards.  And no, she isn’t being rewarded for surviving the Creek, but rather for her portrayal of the most iconic, and challenging Hollywood star of all time.

my week with marilyn michelle williams Marilyn Monroe 2011 25th Novmeber 2011

‘My Week With Marilyn’ (released in the UK on 25th November) has seen Williams transformed into the sensational Ms. Monroe, and if the press images and promotional trailer are anything to go by, she already deserves the pre-empted recognition being banned about, for her efforts alone.

Michelle Williams Marilyn Monroe 25th November 2011 my week with Marilyn

My week with Marilyn 2011 Marilyn Monroe Michelle Williams

In my personal opinion (and trust me, I have read some choice words against her) she seems to have captured Marilyn’s universally recognisable look so much, that I find myself staring at the promo image on my tube line so intently, looking for any sign of Williams, rather than Marilyn herself.  So it is with great anticipation that I wait to see the movie in full, and decide whether Williams does justice to the troubled star…as well as the added bonus of seeing Emma Watson in a non-Lancome/Burberry/Potter shocker.

So what do you think?  Is Michelle the right actress for this, or would someone else have suited this role better?

About Helen Coakley

4 comments on “Face Off: Michelle vs. Marilyn

  1. blondekatie
    November 18, 2011

    I’m really intrigued to see what this is like. The main thing I can’t help but think whenever I see Williams as Monroe is ‘why didn’t she put on some weight for the role?’ wasn’t Monroe supposed to be a size 14 or 16 by our standards? Williams looks really thin and quite frail, I can’t imagine she manages to capture the voluptuousness of Monroe. What ‘choice words’ did you read? I’d be interested to read!

    • Helen Coakley
      November 20, 2011

      I read something about how ‘ugly can’t play beauty’! I think in one of the promotional pictures the light blue dress she wears makes her look rather curvatious. I am sure the stylist on the film had their work cut out for them.

  2. Karen
    November 19, 2011

    Hi Blonde Katie, I was thinking exactly the same thing and then found an article saying that she did pile on the pounds for the role…must have all gone into her big toe!

    http://www.marieclaire.co.uk/news/celebrity/532561/michelle-williams-talks-marilyn-monroe-weight-gain.html

  3. Pingback: 1950s cover girl // TREND | Style and Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2011 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , .
