Style & Then Some

The British Fashion Awards: Wardrobe Malfunction

Yesterday evening was the British Fashion Awards and it certainly was a swanky affair. Setting up shop in the Savoy Hotel and Theatre, the red carpet was a heady mix of fashion icons, retail heavyweights and the odd glamour model.

About a week ago, I received a phone-call asking if I would help out at the event and my inner celeb-spotter couldn’t help but say yes. Bearing in mind that I would be skirting around the blue carpet (red is so passé apparently) rather than posing on it, I didn’t really put much attention into what I was wearing.

Big mistake. Fast-forward seven days and I arrived at the venue channeling what I thought casual chic – a nice skater dress from Topshop paired with some Chelsea boots and a blazer. Easy, simple and comfortable. I knew I was in trouble when I spotted several Nicole Farhi numbers dotted around the office.

And so I did what I do best – I panic-bought. It seems that some of my most treasured items of clothing have some from these manic dashes to fix some kind of wardrobe malfunction. Luckily, round the corner from my office is Hoss Intropia – a lovely Spanish label that has a real knack for creating beautifully feminine pieces.

Eventually settling on the festive green number above – ’tis the season and all that –  I added a little sparkle with a statement necklace from Accessorize and that much-longed-for Topshop leather I was banging on about last week. Okay, so maybe I did splurge a little, but I think that the dress will see me through party season and highlight of the evening was Christopher Kane complimenting my outfit. Score.

What do you think – has panic-buying ever paid off for your wardrobe in the long term? Or is it just a moment of madness? Tweet us some of your pics of your favourite impulse buys @style_thensome

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2011 by in Style and tagged , , , .
