Style & Then Some

This is the funniest play I’ve ever seen. You should totally go and see it.

One Man, Two Guvnors is now on at the Adelphi Theatre. If I were you I’d get tickets now because this run of the hit play is pretty much guaranteed to sell out – I’ve already got mine booked for February next year.

One Man, Two Guvnors at the Adelphi theatre, One Man Two Guvnors National Theatre One Man Two Guvnors James Corden play One Man Two Guvnors London 2012 One Man Two Guvnors 2011

I suffered an epic theatre fail last week. I was supposed to go and see One Man, Two Guvnors at the Adelphi Theatre on Wednesday. I had booked it as a surprise for my boyfriend and was really excited about it. But then a reminder email from the theatre on Monday revealed that I had erroneously booked the matinee performance instead of the evening. Cue a huge facepalm and a trip to the box office to plead, or so I thought, to return the tickets. It turns out I just had to pay £2 per ticket to transfer them, but because the play is so popular the earliest date I could get was 13th February 2012. So a pre-Valentines date it will be.

How do I know One Man, Two Guvnors is so funny if I haven’t seen it yet? Well, actually, I have. Thanks to Theatre Club (we get discounted tickets through work) I saw it during the original run at the National Theatre in September. I don’t want to overstate how good it is, because invariably that leads to disappointment, but, basically, if you’re in possession of a sense of humour you should go and see this play. Set in 1960’s Brighton, it’s the story of Francis Henshall, the man of the title, played by James Corden, and the shenanigans that ensue when Francis lands himself with two bosses and has to juggle secrets, suitcases and a lack of sandwiches. What’s that, you find James Corden intensely irritating? So did I, until I saw this. He is brilliantly funny, as are all of the cast, with my favourite performance being the ancient, quivering, half-deaf waiter Alfie. The production has been getting five star reviews all over the place, but this isn’t some highbrow theatrical drama that happens to have a few pithy lines, it’s an out-an-out slapstick LOL-fest. There’s one bit where an audience member comes on stage and I still can’t work out whether she was an accomplice or not, because of what they did to her (I don’t want to give anything away, but it was hilarious). I’m hoping I can work it out on my second visit. You should go too. Seriously. It’s so good.

One Man, Two Guvnors is at the Adelphi Theatre until the end of February 2012. Book tickets on the Adelphi website.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2011 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , .
