Style & Then Some

Winter’s Guilty TV Pleasures

There is nothing as satisfying as a guilty pleasure.  And mine tend to be confined to the realms of excruciatingly ‘bad’ music, magazines, and TV.  Hey, my DVD collection reads like a 12-year-old girl’s would.  So I have started to feel somewhat secretly blissfully happy with the return of two of my worst/best shows…and on the SAME night no less.  Two birds, one stone and all that.  And I have decided, once and for all, I will not be ashamed to discuss them and their many qualities…

First up, Tuesday night played host to the return of ‘Big Fat Gypsy Weddings’ on Channel 4.  With the Twittersphere going absolutely mad, I think it is safe to say I am not alone with my fascination in to the culture and traditions of the Gypsy community.  And with Channel 4’s extremely controversial billboard advertising campaign to promote the new series (you must have seen the ‘Bigger, Fatter, Gyspier’ billboards around London, no?), let’s face it, it didn’t disappoint.  And I do have to say, as an avid viewer and fashion lover, there just has to be some copyright issues using Diamantes to spell out designer names and logos on wedding dresses.  Baby Phat across your bustle anyone?!  The Chanel logo strewn on your Holy Communion dress, girls?!  But nit-picking aside, I have to admit I laughed my face off, as most of Twitter apparently did, at the young traveller girl with the name ‘Nangirl’.  Is she some kind of new hybrid Supergypsy?  We may never know…

Big Fat Gypsy Weddings series 2 channel 4 my big fat gypsy wedding gypsy weddings

Secondly, my new all-time favorite reality show, Geordie Shore is back with a literal ‘bang’.   If you are yet to give it a chance, please do, just for the mind baffling banter, quality one-liners and car-crash catfights.  Trust me, 10 mins of the Shore and you will feel like a Saint.  I have been assured by many Geordies it is giving the Tyne a bad name, but being a girl from Essex, and having to endure the TOWIE stereotype for far too long, I am secretly enjoying the ‘stereotype spotlight’ shining on our Northern friends for a change.

Geordie Shore series 2 geordie shore 2012 geordie shore mtv geordie shore newcastle Geordie Shore MTV 2012

So please, if you would like to confess and divulge your bad TV habits to me, please do.  The question does remain however…who’d call their kid NANGIRL?

About Helen Coakley

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
