Style & Then Some

Top Tanning tips: Fake it the Smart Price Way

When it comes to overtly girly practices, like fake eyelashes, weekly mani-pedis and weekend trips to the Spa, I must say, I am somewhat of a late bloomer.  At Uni I descended so far down the ‘grunge’ path I was once mistaken by a train worker for a boy.  But since I began working in our nation’s capital, and becoming smothered with exceptionally well-groomed and well-heeled contemporaries every day, somehow the whole billion pound generating beauty business started to suck me in.  The baggy jeans went and the fake tan came out.  

Now, I’m sure I am not the only one who finds this particular beauty regime an absolute minefield.  And I am eternally grateful to certain friends who have done the St. Tropez to L’Oreal leg work for me, and tried and tested every type of tanning products out there.  Process of elimination has thus meant I have fared rather well these past couple of years with the best Boots has to offer, despite the occasional application mishap-in-a-hurry.  So I was intrigued when I received an email asking to road test the latest fake tan solutions Asda (yes, Asda’s own) had to offer.  Being a firm believer in you get what you pay for, I was somewhat apprehensive to see if the range would leave me and my lucky fellow road testers with a gorgeous sun-kissed glow, else end up looking like Patricia Krentcil (you know, the American ‘Tanning mom’).

Patricia tanning mom american tanning mom american tan mom 2012

However, I must say, myself and my guinea-pig friends were all really shocked by not only the price (prices start at £3.50) but the absolute ease of not only applying the tan (alway use a mitt people!) but how streak free and natural it leaves the skin looking.  One big problem I usually find, despite loving that digestive biscuity smell myself, is that many people shy away from fake tan due to the tell-tale smell.  Yet  this range appears to only carry a faint whiff on the biscuit jar, and thus most definitely won’t give you away.

Asda Self Tan asda beauty asda beauty products best fake tans over the counter fake tans bargain fake tans

Asda Self Tan asda beauty asda beauty products best fake tans over the counter fake tans bargain fake tans

Asda Self Tan asda beauty asda beauty products best fake tans over the counter fake tans bargain fake tans

So seeing as it looks like Summer is going to be a wash out anyway, and if like me you can’t get away this year (but want to act like you have) just take a holiday to the beauty isle in Asda, else shop online here.

About Helen Coakley

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , , .
