Style & Then Some

Street Style | Floral and pastels at Graduate Fashion Week 2012

Not only did Graduate Fashion Week deliver a whole heap of talent on the catwalks (check out our round up of the best graduate collections) but there was plenty of style savvy on display in between the shows too. While perusing the pathways of the Earl’s Court exhibition centre we found many an attendee nodding to the two of the biggest spring 2012 trends – pastels and florals. Was it deliberate? We stopped a handful of very well dressed visitors to find out.

Marissa Owen at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style photos 2012 graduate fashion week gfw 2012 earl's court exhibition centre graduate fashion week 2012 photos street photos style photos outfit photos

Who: Marissa Owen, who won last year’s graduate womenswear designer of the year award. Marissa is now a designer at Marks and Spencer.

What are you wearing? Cos dress, PPQ shoes, Topshop socks and bag.

Do the seasonal trends influence what you wear? Not consciously, but because I’m always researching trends for my work I think there is a certain influence.

What have you seen at GFW so far? I saw the UCLan show, that’s the uni I went to, it was brilliant. I loved the collection with the jack-in-a-box theme [it was by Xiaoping Fiona Hwang].

Lucy Nicholls at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style photos 2012 graduate fashion week gfw 2012 earl's court exhibition centre graduate fashion week 2012 photos street photos style photos outfit photos

Who: Lucy Nicholls, recent fashion promotion graduate of Middlesex University and blogger on Shiny Thoughts.

What are you wearing? Topshop shirt, trousers and brogues, Lazy Oaf backpack, Me and Zina jewellery.

Are you influenced by seasonal trends? Not really. I like florals and pastels anyway so I’m glad they’re in the shops right now.

What are you looking forward to seeing at GFW? I want to look at other graduate fashion promotion potfolios and see what they’ve done.

Mehbuda Uddin at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style photos 2012 graduate fashion week gfw 2012 earl's court exhibition centre graduate fashion week 2012 photos street photos style photos outfit photos

Who? Mehbuda Uddin, studying fashion at Bournemouth.

What are you wearing? Warehouse blouse, New Look skirt, Dorothy Perkins bag and accessories.

Are you influenced by seasonal trends? I picked this outfit many because I like the petrol blue colour of the skirt and because it has a retro feel. I flip through magazines so I’m aware of trends but for me it’s more about what suits me.

Charis Younger at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style photos 2012 graduate fashion week gfw 2012 earl's court exhibition centre graduate fashion week 2012 photos street photos style photos outfit photos

Who? Charis Younger, Northumbria graduate now designing menswear at All Saints.

What are you wearing? Asos dress, Primark bag, All Saints jewellery.

Are you influenced by seasonal trends? I’m definitely aware of the trends but I usually wear a lot of black and grey, like the All Saints clothes. There’s just so much pastel in the shops at the moment, but I try to wear it with my own twist.

Who should we look out for from Northumbria at GFW? Look out for Charlotte Sowerby and Emily Edge, they’re both great.

Elis at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style at Graduate Fashion Week 2012 street style photos 2012 graduate fashion week gfw 2012 earl's court exhibition centre graduate fashion week 2012 photos street photos style photos outfit photos

Who: Elis, from Bulgaria, studying business and management at Exeter university, currently on a sandwich placement doing marketing at IBM.

What are you wearing? All by  Zara apart from shoes which were bought from a shop called Renkel in Berlin, Germany.

What have you seen that you’ve liked at GFW? I really liked the University of Edinburgh show as they did interesting things with the business suit – it’s something I wear everyday.

Are you influenced by seasonal trends? I’m limited with my work clothes but I likes to wear flowers and colours outside of work.

Leave a comment

