Style & Then Some

Do you know what this weather calls for? Shuella, the umbrella for shoes

File them under ‘inventions you never knew you couldn’t live without.’ These are not just wellies, they’re Shuella.

Shuella shoe umbrella wellies in yellow Shuella shoe umbrella wellies buy UK Shuella shoe umbrellas shoe rain protection high heel shoe covers heels rain covers waterproof high heels

When I first heard about Shuella, the self-proclaimed antidote to rain-ruined shoes, I scoffed. I might even have LOLed. Who on earth would bother with such a ridiculous contraption?

But then the summer arrived in London.

The summer that brought us officially the wettest June on record, the reversed hosepipe ban and the most rain since that scene in Forrest Gump with all the different kinds of rain. But it’s also really schizophrenic weather. Just yesterday, I set off on my bike for work, bare of leg and free of care, in the little black canvas Mary Janes I wear to death every summer, with the sun beaming down (it lasted all of about 40 minutes). By the time I got home at the end of the day, my MJs and I were thoroughly rain-drenched as the day’s five-hour allocation of torrential rain had just set in.

Shuella shoe umbrella wellies in yellow Shuella shoe umbrella wellies buy UK Shuella shoe umbrellas shoe rain protection high heel shoe covers heels rain covers waterproof high heels

Now I’m thinking whoever’s behind Shuella should be awarded the Nobel Prize for Fashion (I can’t believe this category doesn’t exist either) and I want a pair in every colour to slip on whenever the heavens open. Then I wouldn’t have to keep lugging round spare shoes all the time, swapping from heels to flats just to walk to the tube and risking trench foot every time I walk out the door. ‘SHUELLA’S are easy to put on and strong enough to walk in with a slip free sole. I’ve also included a cloth to wipe off any excess water before you fold them up and put them back in their convenient pouch,’ explains designer Rebecca Miller. She’s thought of everything! (Except grammar, because I’m really not sure there should be an apostrophe in Shuellas.)

Anyway, want some Shuellas of your own? You can order them from the US Shuella website for $47.45 (about £31) including P&P or you can get them on this UK website for a bargainous £8 but they’re currently out of stock.

Shuella shoe umbrella wellies in yellow Shuella shoe umbrella wellies buy UK Shuella shoe umbrellas shoe rain protection high heel shoe covers heels rain covers waterproof high heels

3 comments on “Do you know what this weather calls for? Shuella, the umbrella for shoes

  1. unzeblog6
    September 10, 2012

    Wow lovely shoes, i just loved your picks, waiting for some more

  2. Rebecca Miller
    July 24, 2013

    Thank you for your compliments on my design of SHUELLA- your shoe umbrella!! I don’t know about a Nobel Prize but I designed these for me and thought……I can’t be the only woman who would want them! Rebecca Miller- SHUELLA, founder/designer!

  3. Pingback: Cómo llevar botas de lluvia con estilo | Bossa

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2012 by in Style and tagged , , , , .
