Style & Then Some

A day out at the Auction House

auction house cape's dunn manchester
I am very bad at auctions – I arrive too late to properly scope out the gems then forget how much my upper limit is when bidding. I know this because I recently spent an hour or two at a General Sale held by Cape’s Dunn, an auctioneers in Manchester where my mother works.

auction house cape's dunn manchester

I came away empty handed but still had fun bidding for a medieval ring and a tripod wash basin after fawning over an onyx cigarette box that was almost nice enough to make me contemplate taking up smoking. There were a few trinkets and ornaments and a great set of Carl Zeiss binoculars in a scruffed up leather case.

auction house cape's dunn manchester

Cape’s Dunn also hold Fine Art sales and have an amazing treasure trove of jewellery and paintings in the back. My next move: finding an auction house in London with the same incredible furniture prices so I can give Ikea a miss for once.

auction house cape's dunn manchester

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , .
