Style & Then Some

Searching For Sugar Man: Courtesy of Grolsch Film Works

Last week I absent-mindedly entered a competition I’d seen on Twitter and totally forgot about it, like you do.  Then, out of the blue, 2 tickets to a private film screening of ‘Searching For Sugar Man’ courtesy of Grolsch Film Works landed in my inbox.  Now, I’m not going to pretend I’m some kind of film-buff or avid 1970s music mentalist, so you may scorn at my review (hell, my DVD collection reads like a 14 year old girl’s), but in this case, I believe this may have even helped.  Intrigued?! Then read on dear readers!

Searching for Sugar Man Rodriguez Searching For Sugar Man Grolsch Film Works 2012

 

Now, in an attempt to be all professional and that, (Hey Time Out, if your reading this, give me a job?!) I will exercise some restraint and not give away the main premise of the film.  But seeing as I am no Peter Travers and legit movie-buff either, here is the basic low-down:

Searching for Sugar Man tells the incredible true story of Rodriguez, the greatest ’70s rock icon who never was. Discovered in a Detroit bar in the late ’60s by two celebrated producers struck by his soulful melodies and prophetic lyrics, they recorded an album which they believed would secure his reputation as the greatest recording artist of his generation. In fact, the album bombed and the singer disappeared into obscurity amid rumors of a gruesome on-stage suicide. But a bootleg recording found its way into apartheid South Africa and, over the next two decades, he became a phenomenon. The film follows the story of two South African fans who set out to find out what really happened to their hero. Their investigation leads them to a story more extraordinary than any of the existing myths about the artist known as Rodriguez. — (C) Sony Pictures Classics

Now, I’m not joking when I say I was absolutely riveted by this documentary.  And if I hadn’t got these tickets for free, I probably would have picked going to see Batman over Sugar Man which would have been an epic fail.  If you have never heard of Rodriguez before this film, like me, this true life story of a 1970s nobody who became bigger than Elvis in South Africa (without even knowing it) will blow your mind.  A word of warning though: DO NOT GOOGLE until you have seen it.  You do not want to ruin this for yourself, and this is my main reason for not uploading a trailer too. ..

 

About Helen Coakley

2 comments on “Searching For Sugar Man: Courtesy of Grolsch Film Works

  1. blondekatie
    August 15, 2012

    I’ve only just read this post, this films sounds incredible. I love a good true life mystery, I really want to see it.

  2. Pingback: Free outdoor cinema in London continues tomorrow with Mean Girls | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

