Style & Then Some

A little bit of luxury: Handmade lingerie by Ohhh Lulu

Lace bra and pants set vintage inspired handmade custom made lingerie Ohhh Lulu

Oh my! Buying custom made lingerie was a luxury I thought would be out of my reach as long as bras at Rigby & Peller cost upwards of £90 each. I’ve written about the importance of a good underwear before, so you’re going to think that I’m obsessed. (Well perhaps I am.) Anyway, I recently came across a beautiful Etsy shop called Ohhh Lulu, and ordered a few of the handmade vintage inspired pieces. They arrived the other day, beautifully packaged and fitting perfectly. Wearing it is kind of like wearing a hug. The shop has 3734 admirers and 100% positive feedback from happy customers on Etsy, and it must have something to do with the fact that you give your measurements at checkout and can ask Sarah, who custom makes the lingerie herself for every order, to make little tweaks to the design, if you wish.

It’s fantastic the way that sites like Pinterest, Etsy, and Folksy are giving small scale businesses the opportunity to sell their unique handmade products world-wide.

Sarah of Ohhh Lulu grew up ‘very close to the middle of nowhere’, and learnt to sew with her grandmother from an early age, making Barbie clothes to enter in a local fair. She spent two years at George Brown studying Fashion Design.

Striped sailor bra Lace bra and pants set vintage inspired handmade custom made lingerie Ohhh Lulu

‘I am so fortunate to live in the most beautiful little town. I am often inspired by the Victorian and Edwardian architecture of my little town, the beautiful waterfront, the forests and lakes,’ she says. ‘My biggest inspiration though, is the clothing of days gone by. I’ve always loved dressing up in costume, and I am just amazed by the detail that went into the clothing of our ancestors. I try to capture bits and pieces of that in my lingerie, through the delicate hand sewn ruffles, decorative stitching, and bows.’

She is still working full time in an office, but hopes to be able to focus on Ohhh Lulu full time eventually. I am sure she will be able to fulfil that dream before long – the response to her work has been so positive I am not sure how she juggles the demands on her time.

Striped sailor bra lace bra and pants set vintage inspired handmade custom made lingerie Ohhh Lulu

About Sophie Caldecott

Writer | Founder of www.abetterplacejournal.com

Leave a comment

