Style & Then Some

Did you know only 15% of official statues in the UK are of women?

That’s out of the 640 official statues across the UK, according to recent research. So the folks that make Sure Maximum Protection decided to try and even things up a bit, by challenging a bunch of bloggers to create a statue of a woman they admire.

I love a bit of arts and crafts fun (remember mine and Helen’s awesome painted head from a while back?) so I was definitely up for this challenge. I was sent a lovely little art kit complete with acrylic paints, paintbrushes and a little white statuette to decorate so on Sunday afternoon I set to work on my inspirational woman. Here’s the finished article:

Michelle Obama statue

I don’t think it’s a superb likeness by any stretch of the imagination, but eagle-eyed fashion (or politics) followers among you might notice the black and red Tracy Reese dress from election night in November 2008. Yep, it’s First Lady of the United States Michelle Obama.

Michelle Obama on election night, November 2008

Why did I choose the FLOTUS? Well, where do I begin? It’s the very fact that Michelle excels at a multitude of roles that impresses me. Not only did she have a successful law career for many years, but since becoming First Lady she has spearheaded a campaign to tackle childhood obesity in the US, which we all know is a major problem all across the developed world. Michelle is equally dedicated as a mother to Malia and Sasha as she is to her role as the wife of the most powerful man in the world. Just last week Michelle delivered a widely-praised speech in support of Barack Obama’s campaign for reelection and she is consistently rated higher in terms of favourability with the public than her husband. On top of all that, the other thing that I particularly like about Michelle Obama is that she’s really into fashion and isn’t afraid to say it. Frequently, having an interest in fashion is seen as shallow or vapid, it’s belittled, often in a sexist way, but Michelle is vocal about how fashion is something she enjoys. ‘If I can have any impact, I want women to feel good about themselves and have fun with fashion,’ she said in 2009. That doesn’t mean it’s the be all and end all, but I think it demonstrates what a well-rounded woman she is. I think Michelle is a worldwide icon who definitely deserves a statue, even if it is only my little painted one. Plus, Beyonce wrote her a letter because even she is in awe of Michelle. Now that’s what I call an endorsement.

So, now I want to know, which inspirational woman do you think deserves her own statue?


One comment on “Did you know only 15% of official statues in the UK are of women?

  1. Pingback: My first foray into cosplay: Here’s how I made my Legend of Zelda Link costume | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , .
