Style & Then Some

Fancy a little world cinema 3D Style? Check out Flying Swords of Dragon Gate

Foreign cinema has never been something I have particularly warmed to. Perhaps it’s because I’m lazy and don’t want to read the subtitles, or perhaps it’s the memories of sitting through many an Asian horror film at Uni with my housemates that put me off…(Oldboy still gives me the shivers).   But when Style & Then Some were invited to attend the preview for the new Martial Arts thriller ‘Flying Swords of Dragon Gate’, I thought I’d give it a whirl in the hopes of broadening my cinematic horizons…

Flying Swords of Dragon Gate cinema 2012

 

Flying Swords of Dragon Gate cinema 2012

And you know what? I actually thoroughly enjoyed it!  For a novice on all things Chinese, and despite completely losing the plot of the movie about two-thirds of the way in, the special effects (oh, did I mention the whole movie is shot in 3D?) were enough to still keep you thoroughly entertained.  Starring Jet Li – and not BRUCE LEE as I immediately assumed and then realised he’s actually been dead quite some time now, the movie is set in the midst of the Ming dynasty where Jet Li takes on somewhat of a Zorro-esque role. Obviously there are tales of love, betrayal, treasure hunting and literal back stabbing galore.

released in selected cinemas on 19th October, and on DVD on the 29th, if you are a fan of your Chinese cinema, this is right up your street. If not, it might be worth a look just to see if you can keep up with the plot.

 THREE SHINY SPARKLY STARS.  

 

About Helen Coakley

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
