Style & Then Some

Brad Pitt’s Chanel No. 5 Monologue

The highly anticipated Chanel No. 5 advert launched to quite a stir this week,  this commotion mostly included scathing reviews and piss-takes.  Brad Pitt features as the first male-lead to represent the iconic brand following a trail blazed by Nicole Kidman, Charlize Theron and Kiera Knightley.

I unexpectedly saw the ad the other day and felt a slight cringe twinge but wasn’t over or underwhelmed. The puzzling format definitely struck me as divergent and unfamiliar and I assumed the dialogue was a famous sonnet that had bypassed my uncultured brain.  I think I only  felt a bit awkward because well, Brad looked a bit awkward.  I couldn’t quite look him in the eye.  Filmed through a soft-focus, black and white arty-film filter, Pitt stands uneasily, hands in pocket, huskily showering the viewer with a pretentious-y, meaning-of-life, love-poem jargon (I know, I should lecture in English Literature with that articulate appraisal…)

Reviewed in the press as ‘too awkward for words’, ‘a stinkbomb’, and ‘embarrassingly awful’, it appears to have fallen short of public expectation to say the least.  My favourite being The Guardian’s fashion blog, which describes the 30 second ramblings as ‘…like it’d been Google translated through 12 different languages and back into English again.’ 

As much as I agree the format is a tad uncomfortable to watch, the words nonsensical and overall a bit cringe, I applaud mixing up the scenery and doing something different.  No doubt the film will be relentlessly spoofed and scorned for years to come, but then again, who’s having the last laugh…we’re still talking about it and I don’t think the Branjolina bunch will let it ruin their weekend.

Follow me @joanna_knowles

One comment on “Brad Pitt’s Chanel No. 5 Monologue

  1. katyspry
    October 18, 2012

    I agree Jo, it was so rubbish! Clearly took them about 3 minutes to create, very pretentious-y indeed!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 18, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , .
