Style & Then Some

The Carrie Diaries | Will they get it right?

Like many other twenty something girls I was rather excited about the recent arrival on British screens of the much anticipated new series, ‘Girls’, often hailed as a far less polished version of ‘Sex and The City’ for a younger generation. However this has done little to suppress my intrigue over the impending SATC prequel due to air early next year. ‘The Carrie Diaries’ focuses on a young Carrie Bradshaw (played by actress AnnaSophia Robb) back in the 80s as she makes her transition from High-School senior to New York party girl.

The Carrie Diaries, AnnaSophia Robb, Candace Bushnell, Sex and The City, Carrie Bradshaw

Aside from the obvious excitement over the fabulous fashions that will no doubt feature, I am more interested to see how accurate, or rather how believable, the depiction is of a youthful Bradshaw. After being such a dedicated fan of SATC for so many years (I even won the coveted cupcake prize on the SATC Bus Tour in New York due to my extensive knowledge of the show) and knowing each episode practically word for word; I’m starting to question whether or not I will be able to kick back and enjoy yet another Carrie dose of entertainment, or will I just spend my time pointing out historical inaccuracies as I think I may have found my first mistake in the trailer released for the new series last week.

In one episode where Carrie is out for dinner with her slightly inappropriate Vogue editor, he brings up the subject of her Dad and she is quick to let him know how her Father has nothing to do with her life after walking out on her and her Mother when she was a child. Then in the trailer we all of a sudden see her Dad credited as the main driving force behind her big move to Manhattan to chase her dream career. The taster also insinuates that boys, especially the old virginity-losing-rite-of-passage-business, will feature heavily in the program reminding me of another particular scene from the past. At one point Carrie reveals to Charlotte that the first time she had sex was on a pool table with a gentleman called Seth, so we will just have to see how, or if, this specific instance is tackled. I’m either a somewhat crazed fan or well within my rights to be critical, I will let you lot be the judge of that.

Let us pray that this does not turn out to be yet another colossal Sex and The City 2 style disappointment, I don’t know about the rest of you but even two years on I’m still recovering from that devastating blow. Will you be watching ‘The Carrie Diaries’ next year? See the trailer here.

3 comments on “The Carrie Diaries | Will they get it right?

  1. Hannah
    October 29, 2012

    I watched the trailer and it looked a little young for me. It will probably be watched by 13 or 14-year-olds, not those who watched the original SATC. I will give it a go, though.

  2. RoseKeats
    October 30, 2012

    I’ve been totally thinking the same thing! I started to read The Carrie Diaries and spent my whole time going ‘no in the show she says this…’ even though obviously the books are written by the author and the show was written on the basis of the author’s book. I suppose if the Carrie Diaries follows the books then it’s technically ‘the real Carrie’ as C.b wrote her, but I think for the devoted SATC fans it’s just not going to work!

  3. Helen Coakley
    October 30, 2012

    I think the original fans are just going to be too old for this 😦 It does look like it has the potential to be executed quite well, but like you said you instantly pick up on discrepancies with the smallest of things. The beauty of SATC was its ability to shock at times as well, and this looks a bit cutsie cute.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2012 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , .
