Style & Then Some

Pleather and Peplum picks…How to nail 2 trends in 1

Two tricky trends that have emerged this season have resulted in a personal battle to find the ultimate in styles I have never before ventured in to.  ‘Pleather’ and peplums to be exact. Whilst I have been lusting over a series of real leather skater skirts for the last few months on various internet sites such as Asos, Topsop et al, I didn’t feel at ease with blowing around £90 on a trend that could potentially hit saturation point this winter. Just like my previous deliberations over the Isabel Marant rip-off trainer heels that have subsequently flooded the market (and yes I did ultimately cave) I have been holding out for a cheaper copy, a ‘pleather’ if you will, which wont make me cry when my credit card bill comes. After umming and arring over this version from Rare I discovered in the basement of Topshop’s flagship yesterday, which not only also incorporates the studded trend for AW12-13 but is also a steal at £26, I would have gone for it had I not picked out a size too small and had a MOOOO moment…

Rare London 2012 Rare leather skirt rare pleather skirt rare topshop leather skater skirt leather trend 2012 pleather trend 2012 topshop skater skirt topshop leather skirt leather skater skirt 2012

However, this did lead me to venture in to Zara, somewhere where I rarely shop to be honest, and discovered something that not only nodded to the leather trend, but also incorporated the ‘peplum’ look which has been absolutely everywhere from SS12 (and which I do not see going away).  This PU gem only set me back £22.99 and although I am yet to road test it out thoroughly, I think managing to nail two trends with one item is pretty good going…

Pleather trend Pleather trend 2012 leather trend 2012 pleather leather 2012 peplum 2012 pleather peplum 2012 zara leather 2012 zara leather peplum 2012 leather trend pleather trend zara

About Helen Coakley

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2012 by in Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
