Style & Then Some

Operation: Stop being lazy (now to look the part…)

Now I’m fully into my fitness stride, I’ve decided my ancient gym clothes make me look like I‘ve jogged into the studio via the lost property cupboard. I’m not quite ready for pro-type athlete wear; you won’t find me taping up my shoulders with Kinesio tape or sporting a triathlon number bib, but like any wardrobe, a quick refresh goes a long way.

Appearance and gym-going need not normally be discussed in the same sentence.  It’s a given that expectations are low.   If you’re one of the gym bunnies that hop in with full make-up (inc. lashes), straightened hair and a magazine to read – you look ridiculous.  The gym is where you should look your worst.  If you don’t look horrific, I would suggest, you’re not doing it right.  Additionally, if you can read OK! Magazine and do a workout, you’re not doing it right.  However – vanity rant over- sportswear is something that can look good and make a difference to how you feel and perform.  High-tech fabrics keep you cool/warm/non sweaty and close-fit designs aid movement and comfort, prolonging or enhancing your workout.  Technology sometimes outdoes your comfy track pants and boyfriend sweatshirt, it’s a lesson I’ve learnt the hard way too.

I realise it’s Christmas and sportswear sales have probably hit their annual low but think of it as getting a step ahead.  Add it to your Christmas list so when the calendar changes, you’re ready to go – no awkward pyjama/uni T-shirt pairings to be grappled with.   If anything, a stretchy legging and relaxed-fit hoody are perfect eating attire too…

 These are my favourite, versatile gym wear options:

Skins RY400 Women’s Compression Long Tights for Recovery £85

skins

Shock Absorber Sports Bra, £25

Shock

 Adidas Colorado Track Top, £55

adidas

 
 
adidas by Stella McCartney Women’s Axyridis Shoes, £100
 
Stella Adidas Trainers

Puma Essentials Racer Back Tank £7

Puma racer top

One comment on “Operation: Stop being lazy (now to look the part…)

  1. Andrew Reynolds
    October 25, 2013

    Excellent article. I am going through some of these issues as
    well..

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2012 by in And Then Some, Style and tagged , , , , , , , , .
