Style & Then Some

Where There’s a Niche There’s a Way | The Perfect Lipstick to Wear with Your Double Denims?

perfect shade of lipstick lipstick shades how to find the perfect lipstick Poppy King lipstick queen Poppy King Australian Jean Queen lipstick qvc lipstick to go with blue jeans

Call me crazy, but when I was given a tube of Lipstick Queen’s ‘Jean Queen’ to test out following our night out at the Giles Deacon QVC Jewellery event on Monday, I did laugh out loud.  The beauty industry generates billions of pounds each year recycling the same products and blinding us with new packaging, new marketing tactics and new ‘scientific discoveries’ which will trick us in to handing over that Boots advantage points card.  Now, don’t get me wrong,  I am a beauty product junkie but I’m not naive about it.  I know what works for me and I know that there aren’t really crushed diamonds in my VO5.  But as long as you are aware of this, then what is the harm in having fun at the beauty counter?  

Despite my reservations and the brazen statements put forward by ‘Jean Queen’ founder Poppy King about this being the perfect shade for any skin tone to wear with your skinnies etc, I decided to not write it off straight away and have indeed been testing out the theory.

Whilst the lipstick claims to perfectly offset ‘the blue in the fabric and lights up your whole face’, as well as suit ALL ethnicities, ALL ages and ALL types of jeans (starting to sound a tad farfetched now, isn’t it?) it also promises to be extra moisturisng.  Now, I can’t say I have had any compliments about how much my lips draw out the hues in my levi’s jacket so far, but I must admit the colour is a dream and does (despite my attempts to prove it wrong) suit my complexion quite well.  Not only this but it stays true to its word on the nourishing side and hasn’t yet required a quick slick over with the gloss or lip balm.  Surprisingly, I find myself with vitally no complaints and actually applauding ‘Jean Queen’ even if it is just a nice shade and sits well.  At $18 (available online– ironically this is now sold out temporarily on QVC but you can read other reviews here) it isn’t far off the same price you would spend treating yourself to a decent ruby-red Chanel lipstick or a Dior lip glaze is it? Whether it does the rest of what it claims remains to be seen…

perfect shade of lipstick lipstick shades how to find the perfect lipstick Poppy King lipstick queen Poppy King Australian Jean Queen lipstick qvc lipstick to go with blue jeans

About Helen Coakley

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2013 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , , , .
