Style & Then Some

Skincare for Spring

After experiencing a temperature that didn’t make us wince for one whole day the other week, a ripple of (ok, very short-lived) optimism could be felt throughout the city.  Yes, we’re still not booking pedicures to accommodate open-toed footwear but the end of winter is in sight.  Well done everyone for pulling through. 

Not needing too much of an excuse to stock up on more skin products, I justified that a few new power products might be the ticket to herald in British Summer Time.  I also turn 29 this month (*sobs*) so feel my skin needs something other than a wet wipe and dab of cold cream.

These are my top selections for springy skin:

Perricone MD Blue Plasma £78

‘A non-acidic daily peel for brightness and glow with Salmon Roe Enzyme and Copper’

Blinding me with cosmeceutical science, this aqua-tinted serum-type substance boasts a peeling property which only targets dead skin cells, avoiding redness and irritation often associated with traditional exfoliation. Not only does it sweep away old skin, it also somehow throws some hydration into the mix.  I’m as baffled by the science as you, but after a week of using it daily underneath my normal skincare products, by the end of a long day in an airless office, in winter….my skin looks perkier and brighter than usual.  I love the tip of adding a  few drops to your skin before a workout for an extra clear-out of pores.

Considering I have sensitive skin, a few drops each day has felt completely comfortable and it’s easy to slot into your regular skincare regime.  Now the tired, wintry skin layers have been slewn off, I’m switching to alternate-day use as it’s pricey and I want to keep my complexion bright and glowy well into the longer evenings.

 Blue Plasma

Murad Essential-C Cleanser £34

‘Cleanse environmentally damaged skin by removing impurities and potential irritants, restoring moisture and preparing skin for repair’

 

Murad cleanser

 

Vitamin C has long been rated a skincare favorite and Murad do a really good ‘sun undone’ range which tackle pigmentation and sun-impacted skin.  Central to this is the vitamin C cleanser which feels light and summery and washes away pollution and other debris without irritating.

 

Caudalie Premier Cru The Cream 50ml £92.50

 caudalie0079_0002-mainProduct

 

Not only is this packed with grape goodness (proper terms include: Grapeseed Polyphenols, Resveratrol, Viniferine….), is designed to minimise signs of ageing and treat pigmentation,  it feels really light and buttery making it a pleasure to use.  My winter-beaten skin looks less terrified after a few pumps of this award-winning luxury treatment.

 

Phytokératine Serum £17

 

Not forgetting hair, after a few months of laziness, I finally booked in for a trim and hung my head in shame as the hairdresser gasped at my split ends and then watched in sheepish hesitancy as she chopped away fervently at my locks, attempting to recapture some shine and movement.  Vowing not to get another telling off I’ve started using a repairing serum to style my hair as well as reconstruct and seal/prevent split ends on a daily basis.  This is like a moisturiser for your hair:

 

Phto serum

2 comments on “Skincare for Spring

  1. blondekatie
    March 21, 2013

    Did you actually buy all these? They’re SO pricey!!

  2. joannaknowles
    March 22, 2013

    At 29 Katie you can’t mess around! Ha! OK, some were travel sizes so not that bad….

Leave a comment

