Style & Then Some

5 of the best: Cat-eye sunglasses

It occurred to me today, when I was squinting against the sun while walking around Pimlico on my lunch break, I really need some new sunglasses.

My favourite vintage pair broke last year and the cheapo aviators I’ve been hanging onto for years are a bit wonky from being crushed in my bag too many times. This year, I’ve decided to invest in a pair of cat-eye sunglasses, so I went hunting on Polyvore for inspiration.

The cat-eye style is a great one for several reasons. Originating in the 1950’s, it’s a quintessential vintage shape that was favoured by such epic beauties as Audrey Hepburn, Marilyn Monroe and Grace Kelly. Cat-eye sunglasses lend an air of ladylike sophistication to even the most tomboyish of girls, and they come in a variety of sizes, which is great if, like me, you have delicate features (who am I kidding, I mean a small face) and don’t suit gigantic Jackie O frames.

The great news is, there are looooads of cat’s eye sunglasses around at the moment. So whether you opt to invest in classic Tom Ford tortoiseshell cat-eyes (£260) or a brightly-coloured high street pair that might only last this season, you’ll be purrrfectly on trend. Miaow.

5 of the best: Cat's eye sunglasses
5 of the best: Cat’s eye sunglasses by blondekatie featuring tom ford optical

Free people sunglasses
£12 – freepeople.com

Tory burch eyewear
£98 – shopbop.com

Stella mccartney
net-a-porter.com

Tom ford optical
flannelsfashion.com

River island
riverisland.com

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Style and tagged , , , , , , .
