Style & Then Some

My Best Charity-Shop Buys

I used to shop in charity shops a lot when I was a student, admittedly more out of necessity than a bohemian dress-sense.  I (unfortunately) wasn’t mixing second-hand chic amidst my designer pieces and H&M and Primark also featured pretty highly.  Upon graduating my retailer of choice also graduated to the dizzier heights of Topshop and Zara and hovered in that region before maxing out at Whistles and Cos in the latter half of my twenties.

I’ve recently found myself popping into the odd charity shop again and remembered the joy of stumbling across a vintagy leather bag or the thrill finding an amazing dress miraculously in my size.  Fate.

The usual advice is still best when hunting down hidden treasures; go for affluent neighbourhoods for higher-end designer brands or student areas for budget high-street threads. Although not charity-orientated  pre-loved and e-Bay are also easy ways to locate second-hand, well…..anything.

Charity buys forego the ‘spending guilt’ and if you need further justification, its recycling too.

Here, I’ve listed some of my favourite second-hand purchases.  On reflection many have out-lasted my high-street purchases and remain firm wardrobe favourites.

L.K. Bennett Leather Patent Block Heel Court Shoes £25 – better condition than most of my current shoes.

Octavia Foundation

3 Bute St, London, Greater London SW7 3EY

Patent Shoes

Tweed Crombie Coat $20 AUD – this hasn’t got any labels whatsoever so I took some guesses at garment care and sizing.

‘Vinnies’ in Paddington, Sydney (short for a charity called St Vincent’s)

Oxford Street 292, 2021 Sydney, NSW

tweed coat

Faux Leather Burgundy Clutch £6.00

Oxfam

93 High Street Wimbledon, London

Clutch pic                    Clutch

Follow me @joanna_knowles

2 comments on “My Best Charity-Shop Buys

  1. blondekatie
    April 11, 2013

    Those shoes are a great find, that’s like 80% off the RRP!

    • joannaknowles
      April 11, 2013

      I know, I’m wearing them as we speak! They’re super comfy (probably because they’ve been worn in….!)

Leave a comment

