Style & Then Some

5 Things to Do Alone

Clothes, Boredom, Wardrobe, 2013, Alone, Weekend

These past few weeks, I’ve found myself alone for a large proportion of the time. So, employing the theory of units of time (as pioneered by Hugh Grant in About a Boy), here are a few ideas to occupy your hours should you, like me, ever find yourself at a loose end.

Now, I should point out this alone time wasn’t brought about by my awkward social skills or poor hygiene scaring people away (I hope), but rather to do with the strange hiatus I’ve found myself in between graduating and beginning life as an Adult. Thus, these are cheap, lazy options to try on a weekend when yours is the only company available.

 1. Embark on a health mission.

Discarding my previous, defeatist attempt at kicking the sugar habit, I do believe that getting your healthy Jen Aniston on genuinely brightens your day. I personally like to bookmark Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday mornings with 45 minutes of Yogalates. It makes me feel like some kind of earth goddess, gives me a positive start to the day and basically justifies takeaway for dinner. Not to mention, yoga DVDs are dirt cheap.

2. Read the classics.

How many of us can truly say we’ve read Anna Karenina, Atlas Shrugged, Catch 22? If you’re one of the few that has, there’s always more in the worldwide vat of literature for your consumption. You never know, it could change your life. Maybe. Or if nothing else, undo those hours you intellectually wasted by watching terrible TV.

 3. Think up new outfits.

Groundbreaking, I know. But I have lost weeks of my life looking at blogs, feeling slightly sick with life envy and then being as creative as possible with what I’ve got in my wardrobe. Working out how clashing two patterns can be without being fugly is an art that does not flourish without practice. And hopefully it’ll avoid that age-old ‘I have nothing to wear’ doom descending when your social life finally resurrects itself.

 4.  Have a bath.

No, a really, really good bath. In the middle of the day, with the radio, or iplayer, or even a DVD propped up (far, far away from the bath – health and safety, people) to watch. Splurge on a bath bomb, exfoliate, hair mask, the works. Write down in your diary: Bath Day. It’s exciting.

 5.  Go to the cinema on your own.

Now, I confess, I have never done this. And I can’t really stop myself from making assumptions about people that do. But hey, if you’re one of those achingly cool people who does not give a second thought to the opinions of fellow humans, go see that film that no one else wants to see. Get the food you want, or none. And please, let me know if it was at all enjoyable because I could be partial to a lone movie trip once in a while. Carrie Bradshaw is too and we all know, that means it’s A-okay.

See, who needs friends?!

2 comments on “5 Things to Do Alone

  1. Pingback: How to survive a hangover when you’ve got somewhere important to be | Style & Then Some

  2. Pingback: 13 things I learned at the Guardian Essentials of Freelance Journalism Masterclass | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2013 by in And Then Some and tagged , , , , , , , , .
