Style & Then Some

A guide on dip-dying (or making Kurt Cobain angry)

When asked about his opinion on tie-dye in 1992, Kurt Cobain declared ‘I wouldn’t wear a tie-dyed t-shirt unless it was dyed with the urine of Phil Collins and the blood of Jerry Garcia.’ Well, it is safe to say the prince of all things grunge wasn’t a massive fan, and probably wouldn’t appriciate to overload of tie-dye currently saturating rails of thrift stores through to the shiny, inappropriately proportioned mannequins at Topshop.

No offence Kurt, but in the right circumstances I do believe in a little tie-dye, or dip-dye to brighten an outfit, but I do not appreciate paying upward of £40 for something I can probably recreate in my bathtub. So when I saw a brilliant ‘how to’ guide to dip-dying on the Anthropologie website, I thought I would give it a shot.

Having seen a similar dip-dyed tee in a magazine I went about scouring ebay for all of two minutes to find a cute ‘I heart NY’ vintage tee for £1.20, and purchased a pack of Rit dye in teal again from Ebay for £4.95.

The other essentials you will need include:

Disposable gloves

Detergent

Large mixing bowl

Wooden spoon

Vintage I Heart NY tee vintage I Heart NY T-shirt tip dye t-shirt tie dye 2013

1. Now, what you need to do is firstly add the dye to 1 gallon (or as much will fit in your bowl) of boiling water.  Make sure to mix all the dye in and add a smidge of detergent.

2. Wet your tee as far as you want to dye it (I only went two-thirds of the way up).

3.  Now this is the messy part.  Making sure you are wearing gloves (I didn’t hence the Avatar hand below) quickly lower your tee in to the blow as far as you have wet it for no more than a few seconds.  Then slowly dunk the tee again only lowering it in to the bowl half way.  Leave this for ten-20 seconds to saturate, then pull out leaving only the bottom section in the dye for another 30 seconds.

4.  Now carefully rinse your tee in lukewarm water until the water is running clear.  Make sure to leave it to dry naturally, then wash on its own once to be certain any excess dye has left the tee.

Vintage I Heart NY tee vintage I Heart NY T-shirt tip dye t-shirt tie dye 2013

Vintage I Heart NY tee vintage I Heart NY T-shirt tip dye t-shirt tie dye 2013

Vintage I Heart NY tee vintage I Heart NY T-shirt tip dye t-shirt tie dye 2013

And voila!

Total cost: £7 and two layers of skin.

Vintage I Heart NY tee vintage I Heart NY T-shirt tip dye t-shirt tie dye 2013

Vintage I Heart NY tee vintage I Heart NY T-shirt tip dye t-shirt tie dye 2013

About Helen Coakley

3 comments on “A guide on dip-dying (or making Kurt Cobain angry)

  1. blondekatie
    June 17, 2013

    That Kurt Cobain quote is amazing, I’d never heard it. Tee looks ace too, a great alternative to the ubiquitous I<3NY classic.
    Also, did you mean to make a smiley face in the bottom of the bowl (in pic 2) or was that just a coincidence?!

  2. Helen Coakley
    June 17, 2013

    Ha no it was on purpose. I usually mess these things up so was attempting to project happy thoughts and it worked!

  3. Pingback: Has Andy Murray’s girlfriend been reading Style and Then Some? | Go Andy! | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2013 by in Style and tagged , , , , , , .
