Style & Then Some

Village fairs in Central, and how to cheat on your hairdresser

Last Tuesday we ventured down to Sicilian Avenue in Holborn as we had heard there was a little street party taking place. Now, I pass Sicilian Avenue on my way to work every single day and have never scampered down this little street despite its all-year-round bunting and cheery vibe. So I was more than happy to hear the little arcade of shops, pubs, restaurants and Brooks & Brooks hairdressers were joining forces to host a Village Fair in aid of Great Ormond Street Hospital. ‘Village’ and ‘Fair’ aren’t two words you often hear in Central London, but the atmosphere could have been lifted straight out of the Vicar of Dibley. There was live music, raffles, even a pickles stand! Oh and of course beer, lots of beer.

We had originally been informed about the Sicilian Avenue Village Fair by Brooks & Brooks hairdressers, who were offering free styling on the night. Lucky for us we were treated to a full on haircut (maybe why we look so chuffed in the photos) and I think I may have committed hairdressing adultery. If you actually know me, or have seen my hair, you may not fall down dead when I say I leave it about 8/9 months at a time before I visit a hairdressers. I blame this partly on an unwillingness to accept I don’t receive a student discount anymore, but mainly due to several bad haircuts in the past at various salons. Having managed to find a decent one in Soho after years of this, I feel like I may have to leave my current stylist a ‘Dear John’ letter, as I think I’m a little bit in love with Brooks & Brooks. It isn’t just that the salon is gorgeous (it is stunning by the way) but the atmosphere coupled with my terrific stylist Rosie made the whole experience incredibly fun. A couple of the ladies from the Salon were also trying out the new Color Bug by Kevin Murphy on us (I opted for purple but unfortunately the gold didn’t show up too good on Becky’s TOTALLY NATURAL mane – how is her hair that thick?!). If like me you are too chicken to dye your entire head lilac/do a Charlotte Free these are a perfect alternative and great for festival season, as they wash straight out too…

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn Kevin Murphy Color Bug

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

Sicilian Avenue street party 2013 Brooks + Brooks hairdressers colour bug 2013 London Hairdressers Holborn

About Helen Coakley

One comment on “Village fairs in Central, and how to cheat on your hairdresser

  1. blondekatie
    July 9, 2013

    Wow check you guys and your glam squad out! The whole fair looks so cute too.

    And I NEED to get me some of those colour bugs things, I love when the hairdressers put lilac/baby pink toner in my hair after dying it but I’ve never done it at home, I think this could be the answer!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2013 by in Style and tagged , , , , .
