Style & Then Some

Cooling off with summer’s best (and cheapest) peg trousers

At a meeting last week with a bunch of designers (I’m not telling who) I heard a great little snippet of conversation that got me thinking. In the world of fashion, us fools in the UK follow the rest of the world with the ‘Autumn/Winter’, ‘Spring/Summer’ fashion transition. Makes sense yes? Well, in actual fact the general UK population spends the majority of their time in winter and transitional clothing. We only get roughly one whole month of glorious summer weather (maybe a couple of weeks more if you get to go abroad) so why do we still spend so much money on summer clothing every year? I also have a huge problem with summer clothing in the fact I hate getting my legs out, and recently decided to test run an inexpensive pair of silky soft geo print peg trousers. Perfect if, like me, you prefer getting your pasty pins waxed and have those dreaded ‘in-between’ weeks.

The pair I purchased were from Bershka on Oxford Street and cost around £15. They have quickly become my absolute staple and I am in the process of finding my next pair (see examples below of who are in the running). Not only are they not going to break the bank, they wash and dry so easily and don’t even need ironing (belugh). It did take me a few attempts to find a couple of suitable outfits for work/festivals etc. which I could incorporate these in to, but when you are working in an office that is basically an OVEN, these peg trousers not only look on trend but may even prevent me from imploding…

 

bershka summer trousers 2013

ASOS peg leg trousers summer trousers 2013

ASOS Trousers with elasticated waistband in blurred print: £21

ASOS peg leg trousers summer trousers 2013

ASOS Soft trousers in Geo print: £35

Topshop peg leg trousers summer trousers 2013

Mono scratch grid jersey tapered trousers: £28

boohoo peg leg trousers summer trousers 2013

Jane Monoscope Printed Hareem Trousers: £15

About Helen Coakley

One comment on “Cooling off with summer’s best (and cheapest) peg trousers

  1. Pingback: Top 5: Summer footwear | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2013 by in Style and tagged , , , , , , , .
