Style & Then Some

It’s December, so now we can discuss: What’s your favourite Christmas Song?

I am a Christmas addict. Around mid October – yes, that early – I am possessed by an excitement that can only be satisfied with fairy lights, tinsel and excess use of fir tree wreaths (talking to you mother). So obviously  I’m overjoyed its now December. And what does December need? CHRISTMAS MUSIC. And if you tell me you hate it or it’s too early, then…well, don’t you listen.

Christmas, family, songs, home, lights, 2013, Mariah Carey

I was stood on a street corner the other day, and by the light of the luminous Christmas decorations, I said to my sister (a fellow addict, it’s a family trait) ‘what’s your favourite Christmas song?’ Oh what a question indeed.

Me? Well, if I were getting specific, I’d split it into Christmas carols and Christmas songs, both pre 1960 and post, and THEN a sub-category of Christmas number ones which may not be necessarily about yuletide cheer yet have Christmas resonance (East 17, anyone?) But that seems a little over the top. Anyway, you’ll find if you do ask this question to your family and friends, it’s a nice little profile of your collective festivities.

Here are the festive favourites of my nearest and dearest (and I did actually phone all of them for this):

Dad: Jona Lewie – Stop the Cavalry (typical Dad, loves a bit of wartime sentiment)

Mum: O Holy Night – Andy Williams (appreciates a solid crescendo)

Sister 1:  Chris Rea – Driving Home For Christmas (or train-ing, in my case)

Sister 2: The Pretenders – 2000 Miles (never one for the conventional choice)

Sister’s Boyfriend: Chuck Berry – Run Rudolf Run (what?)

Boyfriend: Paul McCartney – Pipes of Peace (what?)

Colleague: Elton John – Step Into Christmas (we can watch the snow for EVER AND EVER!)

Housemate: Frank Sinatra – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (doesn’t get more classic really)

And me? I have a special place for Greg Lake’s ‘I Believe in Father Christmas’ – but truly I love all Christmas songs. Even shouty Slade, and crazy Yoko Ono and warbling Mariah Carey, even slurred Pogues and crooning Bing Crosby, because they all take me back to making Christmas cake, or putting up the tree, or eating way too many Celebrations. So whack on this here Sleet family Christmas playlist and get wrapping/choosing your presents – twenty days to go!

Oh and leave a comment below to tell me what your favourite Christmas song is, and together we can create the greatest Christmas playlist of all time.

Christmas, family, songs, home, lights, 2013

My actual room, circa Christmas 2012

3 comments on “It’s December, so now we can discuss: What’s your favourite Christmas Song?

  1. Helen Coakley
    December 6, 2013

    Any Muppet song from A Muppet’s Christmas Carol…does that count? Marley and Marley….WOOOOOOOO!

  2. Pingback: Here you go, 50 (yes, FIFTY) festive knitwear options ready for Christmas Jumper Day 2013 on Friday | Style & Then Some

  3. Pingback: Style and Then Some is looking for new writers | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2013 by in And Then Some and tagged , , .
