Style & Then Some

Thoroughly tried and tested: What’s the best eye cream for dry skin

Earlier this year when I hit the ripe old age of 29 I started to notice fine lines and bags under my eyes where I never had before. Besides freaking out a bit about the futility of life and my rapidly approaching death (apparently this is normal as you edge towards 30), I recalled what a dermatologist once told me: that tired eyes aren’t always a sign of ageing, dryness occures because the under-eye region is neglected when we moisturise. This sounds like a job for eye cream, I thought, and set out to find one, like a good little beauty blogger. Here’s what I found:

This is the latest in my series of blog posts on moisturising products for dry skin. Check out the features on cleanser, moisturiser and hand cream.

Transformulas Wrinkle Block Line Restriction Crème

£36.95 for 15ml, £2.46  per ml

Where to buy it: Transformulas.com

You know something is high tech when it comes in super swish packaging don’t you? Well this eye cream is housed in a sleek silver tube that you twist to reveal the dispenser. So far, so fun, but what’s inside? Inside is a thick white formula that creates a warming feeling when applied under the eyes. That’ll be the snake venom then. Transformulas WrinkleBlock contain’s Syn-ake, a synthetic snake venom that is supposed to inhibit the muscle contractions that cause creases in the skin. A bit like botox I guess? I didn’t see a noticeable effect, but then I don’t have a whole lot of wrinkles (yet). It’s a nice cream if you can afford it.

Best for: intense anti-wrinkle action

transformulas wrinkleblock eye cream Eye cream reviews uk 2013 eye cream for dark circles eye cream for men what eye cream really works what eye cream should I use what eye cream is best

Superdrug Naturally Radiant Brightening Eye cream

£2.98 for 15ml, 20p per ml

Where to get it: Superdrug.com

Thankfully this brightening eye cream isn’t full of sparkly bits like a moisturiser I recently tried that left me looking like a glitter-covered Glastonbury goer. I can’t honestly say I did notice any additional brightness, but I will say this is a good starter eye cream as it’s way cheaper than most but contains the requisite ingredients to moisturise when you aren’t looking for uber anti-ageing action.

Best for: 20-somethings

superdrug naturally radiant brightening eye cream Eye cream reviews uk 2013 eye cream for dark circles eye cream for men what eye cream really works what eye cream should I use what eye cream is best

Superdrug Optimum Apple Skin Renewal Eye Cream

£9.99 for 15ml, 67p per ml

Where to get it: Superdrug.com

It feels like a moisturiser and comes in traditional eye cream tube with narrow dispenser head. But don’t let the standard appearance fool you, Superdrug’s Skin Renewal eye cream has got possibly the most impressive ingredient roster and side-of-box claims of all. Vitamin E and B5 are part for the course, but this is also only eye cream I tried that contains that moisturising powerhouse hyaluronic acid, so it scores major extra points for that.

Best for: 30-somethings

superdrug optimum apple skin renewal eye cream Eye cream reviews uk 2013 eye cream for dark circles eye cream for men what eye cream really works what eye cream should I use what eye cream is best

Aubrey Organics Lumessence Lift Eye Cream

£17.61 for 15ml, £1.17 per ml

Where to get it: Hejhog-uk.com

Another eye cream that gets points for its fine consistency, the Aubrey Organics Lumessence Lift falls firmly into the anti-aging camp as it contains rye seed extract which is ‘clinically proven to reduce lines and wrinkles by 25% when used twice a day.’ It also has a lovely lemony scent, which is nice.

Best for: 40-somethings

aubrey organics lumessence lift eye cream Eye cream reviews uk 2013 eye cream for dark circles eye cream for men what eye cream really works what eye cream should I use what eye cream is best

Ginvera Green Tea Jade Dark Eye Circles Roll Away

£22 for 15ml, £1.47 per ml

Where to buy it: Cocktailcosmetics.co.uk

‘Through massaging using Jade ball, energy will be emitted,’ they say. ‘And penetrated into the skin and body to nourish your skin.’ I’m not so sure about that, but this rollerball eye cream certainly has an instant refreshing effect. If you often feel bleary eyed of a morning this will perk your peepers right up. Only thing is, the Ginvera cream is a lot more liquid than most of the others I tested, so you need to give it time to sink in otherwise it’s going to tempt the mascara from your lower lashes, thoroughly defeating the ‘dark eye circles roll away’ aim.

Best for: an early morning wake up call

ginvera jade dark eye circles roll away Eye cream reviews uk 2013 eye cream for dark circles eye cream for men what eye cream really works what eye cream should I use what eye cream is best

Dr Nick Lowe Age Correct Eye Serum

£19 for 15ml, £1.27 per ml

Where to buy it: DrNickLowe.com

This is the only eye cream which featured a reminder to ‘always apply eye formulations with extra care paying particular attention not to drag and/or overload the skin.’ Having tested a whole bunch, I can tell you those are wise words, because when an eye cream is thicker than regular moisturiser it sometimes felt like I was being to harsh on such a delicate area. The gel-like texture of this Dr Nick Lowe serum makes it easy to spread, and it had the same warming feeling as the snake venom cream, which I presume is a good thing. It’s also fragrance free, so particularly good for sensitive skin.

Best for: sensitive skin

dr nick lowe age correct eye serum Eye cream reviews uk 2013 eye cream for dark circles eye cream for men what eye cream really works what eye cream should I use what eye cream is best

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Line Smoothing Eye Cream

£6.95 for 15ml, 46p per ml

Where to buy it: Feelunique.com

Rich and creamy just like Palmer’s famous body lotion, this eye cream also contains lots of active ingredients for a super hydrating effect.

Best for:  very dry skin

Palmers Cocoa Butter Formula Line Smoothing Eye Cream Eye cream reviews uk 2013 eye cream for dark circles eye cream for men what eye cream really works what eye cream should I use what eye cream is best

Conclusion

I wish I could tell you I found one life-changing eye-opening eye cream that I now swear by. The truth is, there was no major stand out for me. What I would recommend is choosing according to what you’re looking for, and what you can afford. Eye creams can be extremely expensive, so unless you’re in need of some major baggage removal, plump for something affordable. As long as you’re moisturising under your eyes without irritating or pulling the delicate skin that’s the main thing. I intend to upgrade to the more luxury products as I get (and look) older.

9 comments on “Thoroughly tried and tested: What’s the best eye cream for dry skin

  1. Pingback: 5 Must-Have Beauty Products to Have on Hand This Winter Season – ScoopSanDiego.com | Jarom's Blog

  2. Pingback: Running In Winter? Snow Problem! 20 Must-Have Items For Cold-Weather … – Huffington Post | Jarom's Blog

  3. sophiecha
    December 26, 2013

    You don’t look a day over 5 Katie. I look young too but always have huge eye bags, I intend to give one of the cheapies here a go.

  4. Pingback: Clarins Under Eye Cream For Dark Circles | Eyemansup: My great Eye Cream Blog

  5. anne
    May 8, 2014

    One notices fine lines and faint wrinkles and under-eye bags when they’re ~39 , definitely not at 29, I didn’t even have one wrinkle when I was 30. If you have bags and fine lines at 29, good luck when you’re 50. It’s becoming ridiculous……the things you people come up with just to write a piece……

    • blondekatie
      May 8, 2014

      I can’t speak for everyone but I know my 20-something friends and I have often lamented how tired we look and feel, so I know this is of interest to them – as Sophie’s comment below indicates!

  6. Pingback: Best Eye Cream From Dermatologist | Increye: Great beautiful eye

  7. Pingback: What Eye Creams Work On Dark Circles | Increye: Great beautiful eye

  8. Patricia McCoy
    March 24, 2015

    Best I have ever used is Monsia! 🙂

Leave a comment

