Style & Then Some

My new jewellery obsession: Karen Mabon

It started with Eve and the Apple. No, not the dawn of mankind, I’m talking about my latest accessories obsession, the adorably quirky and seriously cool jewellery made by Scottish designer Karen Mabon.

Karen mason necklace 2014 Karen Mabon jewellery 2014 buy Karen Mabon scottish designer eve apple necklace
Karen mason necklace 2014 Karen Mabon jewellery 2014 buy Karen Mabon scottish designer swinging cat necklace
I bought the above Eve necklace for my BFF Annaleise’s thirtieth birthday because the cheekily iconoclastic design seemed to suit her perfectly – and she loved it. It was my other BFF Caroline’s thirtieth the same week (as a 1984 baby I’ve got a lot of them this year) so I snapped up another nudey number, the Showgirl (below), which went down just as well with the birthday girl.
Karen mason necklace 2014 Karen Mabon jewellery 2014 buy Karen Mabon scottish designer swinging cat necklace
As my stylish friends will atest, KM jewellery is great for people who are hard to buy for. The designs are playful and unique and the gold-plated enameled metal doesn’t feel flimsy like costume jewellery sometimes does. Because it’s not stocked on the high street you’re not as likely to see someone else wearing it, but the price points are still very reasonable, around £25-30 a necklace.
Karen mason necklace 2014 Karen Mabon jewellery 2014 buy Karen Mabon scottish designer swinging cat necklace
Keen to get my hands on a Karen Mabon piece to call my own, when I got an email about the sample sale she was holding at Snowden Flood Design, a very cool little gift shop on the Southbank a couple of weeks ago, I immediately emailed Annaleise and said we had to go. On a very rainy Saturday afternoon we had a lovely time rifling through last season’s selection of scarves and met the designer herself. Karen explained how she’s been hard at work on the SS14 collection and that it’ll be out very soon. Annaleise got a foxy scarf and I picked up not one but two discounted necklaces for my very own self, the Wimbledon-inspired Strawberries and Wasps chain (above) and the acrobatic Swinging Cat pendant (below). I’m now very excited to see what delights the new collection holds so that I can continue my collection – and stock up on some more thirtieth birthday presents.
Karen mason necklace 2014 Karen Mabon jewellery 2014 buy Karen Mabon scottish designer swinging cat necklace
Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2014 by in Style and tagged , , , , , .
