Style & Then Some

Seasonal Shades: Sunglasses for Winter?

Sunglasses, AW14, SS15

While getting thoroughly lost in Soho on Sunday (new year’s resolution, behave less like a tourist) and scanning the streets trying to find the coffee shop my friends were in, I fumbled around in my handbag for my glasses. Unfortunately I’d actually only packed my prescription sunglasses, which resemble glasses that severely blind people wear. Nevertheless, I chose reasonable sight over style and sported my shades with my bobble hat, scarf, and shearling coat.

Despite looking like a berk, it got me thinking; I bury away my summer sunglasses once it gets to the end of September, and they don’t see the light of day again until that furiously hopeful Saturday in May when you feel the morning sunshine through the window and head to the local park with your legs out. But why not wear those glasses I love so much in winter? It’s still bright in winter, hell, really bright if it snows (which it is in America right now, and an old lady once told me whatever happens in American weather happens here a fortnight later. I’m not sure how meteorologically qualified she was to make this statement. Anyway, I digress).

And in actual fact, the A-list, in all their covetable glory, wear winter shades all the ruddy time! And whatever they can do, I can do, not to mention there’s a few bargains to be had at the moment from end-of-line sales. Winter shades look great with a slicked back ponytail and a long, thick coat, or maybe with less formal attire like a denim jumpsuit or breton striped top. Sunglasses have a way of smartening up any casual outfit anyway, making you look sort of aloof and inscrutable.  And above all else, it saves you doing your mascara on those days when you really can’t be arsed (all days).

I’m starting the winter sunglasses revolution, beginning with these beauties:

Asos, Round Sunglasses, Leopardprint

Handmade Round Sunglasses With Hinge Detail, ASOS, £35

Topshop Matte Pink Sunglasses

Matte Faded Metal Sunglasses, Topshop, £18

ASOS Cat Eye Sunglasses

Metal Top Cat Eye Sunglasses With Built Up Highbrow, ASOS, £12

Zara, Mirror sunglasses

Pink Mirrored Sunglasses, Zara, £15.99

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2015 by in Style and tagged , , , , , .
