Style & Then Some

I tried the Marie Kondo method in my cluttered bedroom and here’s what happened

kid-with-clutter

Do you keep old clothes, books, birthday cards and gifts from people you don’t actually like? Are your surfaces covered in match boxes from restaurants long forgotten, scented candles you never burn, dead batteries and spare buttons from jackets you no longer own? You are not alone.

I am a bit of a hoarder. I have trousers (that don’t fit) from when I was fourteen and have probably kept every single birthday card since I was 11. Two weeks ago I returned to the U.K after a year living in America and moved my life (temporarily) back home. Moving across the pond I was forced to brutally streamline my wardrobe the experience of which made me to realize exactly what I did and didn’t need. Items such as my sisters cast off backpack, a pair of boots I cannot re-heel again and an abundance of ill-fitting vests and leggings.

IMG_3247

Pre-Marie clutter

Tidying up is currently having a moment.  Marie Kondo is the best-selling author of ‘The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, The Japanese Art of De-cluttering and Organizing’. Her methods are having an impact she was recently listed in Time magazine’s top 100 most influential people in the world. Her core idea is to make decisions based on what you want to keep rather than what to throw away – in her words keep those items which bring you a ‘spark of joy’. She advises thanking objects which have served you well before sending them on their way. To my old biker boots I loved you, you were good to me but you’ve started letting the rain in. My oversized leggings and old vests I don’t really know why I kept you –  I looked like I’d borrowed a manky P.E kit from lost property. You’ll be pleased to hear neither made it into my suitcase.

IMG_3339

Post-Marie and clutter free

I now have a clean bedroom and also ridiculously organised drawers. After following Marie’s advice on folding and storing clothes like a sushi box I remain hopeful that my sock drawer will continue to resemble a row of California rolls. Thank you Marie, it will be a lot easier to navigate my way around my wardrobe and hopefully a hell of a lot easier to move out again.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
