Style & Then Some

5 of the Best: party boots

I am a boot girl. The first time I ever hankered after a pair was Julia Robert’s over-the-knee leather boots she wore in Pretty Woman. I remember being captivated by the way she covered up the scuffs with a felt-tip pen. Fortunately I have moved on, and into a whole myriad world of (less stripper-y) boots.

These days, my wardrobe is packed to the hilt with Chelsea, biker and ankle boots. I wear trainers, and love a strappy heel but I live in my boots. I don’t think I’ve worn ballet pumps since 2005. The root of their appeal for me, and I’m sure for many others, is that boots are more stylish and formal than trainers, but just as comfortable. They are also so much more practical in the rain/sleet /drizzle of good old London.  Recently the high street has been producing some fantastic boots which are simply too fabulous to wear just in the day. Zara is doing well with this trend, and has some fantastic, metallic booties which I have been eyeing up like a magpie. ASOS is also giving some very strong boot-game.

Here are five party-popping boots to brighten up a dull winter day (or night).

Zara Metallic Ankle Boots

Zara, Shiny Leather high heel ankle boots, £69.99

These Zara boots would look great with rolled up boyfriend jeans or, if you’re feeling daring, flared cropped trousers – very now.

Not sure these count as boots. Not sure I care – I love them.  As you can see, these look great with some pleather leggings. I would equally love to see these with a pleather midi-skirt.

These could almost be a pair of pumps looking at the detailing on the toe, but hurray, they’re boots. I would wear with these block-heeled babies with skinny jeans.

Another pair to wear with cropped flare trousers, pencil or midi skirt – preferably with pleats for swoosh–ability.

Check out these crushed velvet bangers! Hurry, it’s no surprise that as I write these are low in stock.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2015 by in Style and tagged , , , , , .
