Style & Then Some

Meet your new favourite LBD, the little Bardot dress

What’s a Bardot dress you say? Well, it’s one on which the neckline reveals both shoulders, as popularised by buxom French actress Brigitte Bardot in the sixties. That’s what I’m lead to believe, anyway. But if Google Trends is anything to go by, it’s primarily a term that retailers have cottoned onto in the last few years in order to shift more frocks. No matter, because it’s a REALLY good kind of dress.

bardot dress black bardot top off the shoulder dress h&m buy images photos brigitte bardot vintage fashion

The current incarnation is clingy, stretchy and short – exactly the way I like my going-out get-up. I’ve just taken delivery of an LBD (or should that be LBBD?) from H&M myself and I am very pleased with it, not least because it was only £12.99. As this hastily self-taken snap doesn’t display very well, it’s a simple design that really only needs a pair of heels, a clutch and a necklace OR belt (not both) by way of accessorisation. I’ve paired mine with black peep toe wedges and an awesome vintage bee clasp belt that my friend bought me recently (she knows about my bee obsession obviously).

bardot dress black bardot top off the shoulder dress h&m buy images photos brigitte bardot vintage fashion

Black off the shoulder dress, £12.99, H&M

bardot dress black bardot top off the shoulder dress h&m buy images photos brigitte bardot vintage fashion

If you’ve got too many black dresses already, you can find Bardots of ever colour in loads of shops right now. I might invest in some more. Since this style has survived since the sixties it’s safe to say it’s not going anywhere for a while.

4 comments on “Meet your new favourite LBD, the little Bardot dress

  1. Ashley Rose
    June 20, 2014

    Dresses are nice, women looking nice in these black dresses.

  2. Pingback: How to shop the Summer Sales. I’ve scrolled so you don’t have to. | Style & Then Some

  3. Pingback: Fantasy Summer outfit alert: And why there isn’t a floral maxi in sight | Style & Then Some

  4. Pingback: How to make a bumblebee flapper dress fancy dress costume | Style & Then Some

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2014 by in Style and tagged , , , , , .